+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21

Thread: ffxi/PC freeze randomly     submit to reddit submit to twitter submit to tumblr

  1. #1
    Smells like Onions
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    7
    BG Level
    0

    ffxi/PC freeze randomly

    Hey guys, lately i installed FFXI via torrent, and its been randomly freezing my whole pc with buzz sound.
    I thought it could be a graphic card driver issue, so i i tried catalyst drivers 11.ish up to latest one which is 12.8 and nothing changed its all the same. and its been only happening with this game, am running all other games perfectly fine w/o any issue, I even had no issues with the game at all before i had to format my pc.
    so i was searching the forums and i found this thread with a person that had similar issue, and someone mentioned that he should download AppCrash software to find out whats causing the crash, so i used it and i came up with this :

    Spoiler: show
    Version=1
    EventType=APPCRASH
    EventTime=129943590430956742
    ReportType=2
    Consent=1
    UploadTime=129943590431396767
    ReportIdentifier=0a1efd24-12f5-11e2-a9f0-b15c71201431
    IntegratorReportIdentifier=0a1efd23-12f5-11e2-a9f0-b15c71201431
    WOW64=1
    Response.type=4
    Sig[0].Name=Application Name
    Sig[0].Value=pol.exe
    Sig[1].Name=Application Version
    Sig[1].Value=1.18.13.0
    Sig[2].Name=Application Timestamp
    Sig[2].Value=4e3bcddc
    Sig[3].Name=Fault Module Name
    Sig[3].Value=d3d8.dll
    Sig[4].Name=Fault Module Version
    Sig[4].Value=6.1.7600.16385
    Sig[5].Name=Fault Module Timestamp
    Sig[5].Value=4a5bd9a7
    Sig[6].Name=Exception Code
    Sig[6].Value=c0000005
    Sig[7].Name=Exception Offset
    Sig[7].Value=00058eac
    DynamicSig[1].Name=OS Version
    DynamicSig[1].Value=6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.1
    DynamicSig[2].Name=Locale ID
    DynamicSig[2].Value=1033
    DynamicSig[22].Name=Additional Information 1
    DynamicSig[22].Value=0a9e
    DynamicSig[23].Name=Additional Information 2
    DynamicSig[23].Value=0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
    DynamicSig[24].Name=Additional Information 3
    DynamicSig[24].Value=0a9e
    DynamicSig[25].Name=Additional Information 4
    DynamicSig[25].Value=0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
    UI[2]=C:\Program Files (x86)\PlayOnline\SquareEnix\PlayOnlineViewer\pol.e xe
    UI[3]=PlayOnline Viewer has stopped working
    UI[4]=Windows can check online for a solution to the problem.
    UI[5]=Check online for a solution and close the program
    UI[6]=Check online for a solution later and close the program
    UI[7]=Close the program
    LoadedModule[0]=C:\Program Files (x86)\PlayOnline\SquareEnix\PlayOnlineViewer\pol.e xe
    LoadedModule[1]=C:\Windows\SysWOW64\ntdll.dll
    LoadedModule[2]=C:\Windows\syswow64\kernel32.dll
    LoadedModule[3]=C:\Windows\syswow64\KERNELBASE.dll
    LoadedModule[4]=C:\Program Files (x86)\PlayOnline\SquareEnix\PlayOnlineViewer\PolHo ok.dll
    LoadedModule[5]=C:\Windows\syswow64\USER32.dll
    LoadedModule[6]=C:\Windows\syswow64\GDI32.dll
    LoadedModule[7]=C:\Windows\syswow64\LPK.dll
    LoadedModule[8]=C:\Windows\syswow64\USP10.dll
    LoadedModule[9]=C:\Windows\syswow64\msvcrt.dll
    LoadedModule[10]=C:\Windows\syswow64\ADVAPI32.dll
    LoadedModule[11]=C:\Windows\SysWOW64\sechost.dll
    LoadedModule[12]=C:\Windows\syswow64\RPCRT4.dll
    LoadedModule[13]=C:\Windows\syswow64\SspiCli.dll
    LoadedModule[14]=C:\Windows\syswow64\CRYPTBASE.dll
    LoadedModule[15]=C:\Windows\syswow64\IMM32.dll
    LoadedModule[16]=C:\Windows\syswow64\MSCTF.dll
    LoadedModule[17]=C:\Windows\system32\WINMM.dll
    LoadedModule[18]=C:\Windows\system32\DDRAW.dll
    LoadedModule[19]=C:\Windows\system32\DCIMAN32.dll
    LoadedModule[20]=C:\Windows\syswow64\SETUPAPI.dll
    LoadedModule[21]=C:\Windows\syswow64\CFGMGR32.dll
    LoadedModule[22]=C:\Windows\syswow64\OLEAUT32.dll
    LoadedModule[23]=C:\Windows\syswow64\ole32.dll
    LoadedModule[24]=C:\Windows\syswow64\DEVOBJ.dll
    LoadedModule[25]=C:\Windows\system32\dwmapi.dll
    LoadedModule[26]=C:\Windows\system32\apphelp.dll
    LoadedModule[27]=C:\Windows\AppPatch\AcGenral.DLL
    LoadedModule[28]=C:\Windows\syswow64\SHLWAPI.dll
    LoadedModule[29]=C:\Windows\system32\UxTheme.dll
    LoadedModule[30]=C:\Windows\system32\samcli.dll
    LoadedModule[31]=C:\Windows\system32\MSACM32.dll
    LoadedModule[32]=C:\Windows\system32\VERSION.dll
    LoadedModule[33]=C:\Windows\syswow64\SHELL32.dll
    LoadedModule[34]=C:\Windows\system32\sfc.dll
    LoadedModule[35]=C:\Windows\system32\sfc_os.DLL
    LoadedModule[36]=C:\Windows\system32\USERENV.dll
    LoadedModule[37]=C:\Windows\system32\profapi.dll
    LoadedModule[38]=C:\Windows\syswow64\urlmon.dll
    LoadedModule[39]=C:\Windows\syswow64\iertutil.dll
    LoadedModule[40]=C:\Windows\syswow64\WININET.dll
    LoadedModule[41]=C:\Windows\syswow64\Normaliz.dll
    LoadedModule[42]=C:\Windows\system32\MPR.dll
    LoadedModule[43]=C:\Windows\AppPatch\AcLayers.DLL
    LoadedModule[44]=C:\Windows\system32\WINSPOOL.DRV
    LoadedModule[45]=E:\Program Files\Windower\Hook.dll
    LoadedModule[46]=C:\Windows\system32\dinput8.dll
    LoadedModule[47]=C:\Windows\system32\d3d8.dll
    LoadedModule[48]=C:\Windows\system32\d3d8thk.dll
    LoadedModule[49]=C:\ProgramData\Real\RealPlayer\BrowserRecordPlugi n\Chrome\Hook\rpchrome150browserrecordhelper.dll
    LoadedModule[50]=C:\Windows\WinSxS\x86_microsoft.vc90.crt_1fc8b3b9 a1e18e3b_9.0.30729.6161_none_50934f2ebcb7eb57\MSVC R90.dll
    LoadedModule[51]=C:\Windows\syswow64\CLBCatQ.DLL
    LoadedModule[52]=C:\Windows\SysWOW64\POWRPROF.dll
    LoadedModule[53]=C:\Windows\system32\CRYPTSP.dll
    LoadedModule[54]=C:\Windows\system32\rsaenh.dll
    LoadedModule[55]=C:\Windows\system32\RpcRtRemote.dll
    LoadedModule[56]=C:\Windows\system32\winbrand.dll
    LoadedModule[57]=C:\Windows\system32\dsound.dll
    LoadedModule[58]=C:\Windows\system32\msiltcfg.dll
    LoadedModule[59]=C:\Windows\system32\msi.dll
    LoadedModule[60]=C:\Program Files (x86)\PlayOnline\SquareEnix\PlayOnlineViewer\viewe r\com\polcore.dll
    LoadedModule[61]=C:\Windows\syswow64\WS2_32.dll
    LoadedModule[62]=C:\Windows\syswow64\NSI.dll
    LoadedModule[63]=C:\Windows\system32\HID.DLL
    LoadedModule[64]=C:\Windows\syswow64\WINTRUST.dll
    LoadedModule[65]=C:\Windows\syswow64\CRYPT32.dll
    LoadedModule[66]=C:\Windows\syswow64\MSASN1.dll
    LoadedModule[67]=C:\Windows\system32\IPHLPAPI.DLL
    LoadedModule[68]=C:\Windows\system32\WINNSI.DLL
    LoadedModule[69]=C:\Windows\system32\atiu9pag.dll
    LoadedModule[70]=C:\Windows\system32\bcrypt.dll
    LoadedModule[71]=C:\Windows\SysWOW64\bcryptprimitives.dll
    LoadedModule[72]=C:\Windows\system32\ncrypt.dll
    LoadedModule[73]=C:\Windows\system32\GPAPI.dll
    LoadedModule[74]=C:\Windows\system32\cryptnet.dll
    LoadedModule[75]=C:\Windows\syswow64\WLDAP32.dll
    LoadedModule[76]=C:\Windows\system32\SensApi.dll
    LoadedModule[77]=C:\Windows\system32\D3DIM700.DLL
    LoadedModule[78]=C:\Windows\System32\MMDevApi.dll
    LoadedModule[79]=C:\Windows\System32\PROPSYS.dll
    LoadedModule[80]=C:\Windows\system32\AUDIOSES.DLL
    LoadedModule[81]=C:\Windows\system32\dhcpcsvc.DLL
    LoadedModule[82]=C:\Windows\system32\dhcpcsvc6.DLL
    LoadedModule[83]=C:\Windows\system32\NLAapi.dll
    LoadedModule[84]=C:\Windows\system32\napinsp.dll
    LoadedModule[85]=C:\Windows\system32\pnrpnsp.dll
    LoadedModule[86]=C:\Program Files (x86)\Bonjour\mdnsNSP.dll
    LoadedModule[87]=C:\Windows\System32\mswsock.dll
    LoadedModule[88]=C:\Windows\system32\DNSAPI.dll
    LoadedModule[89]=C:\Windows\System32\winrnr.dll
    LoadedModule[90]=C:\Windows\System32\fwpuclnt.dll
    LoadedModule[91]=C:\Windows\system32\rasadhlp.dll
    LoadedModule[92]=C:\Windows\system32\BfLLR.dll
    LoadedModule[93]=C:\Windows\System32\wshtcpip.dll
    LoadedModule[94]=C:\Windows\system32\SXS.DLL
    LoadedModule[95]=C:\Program Files (x86)\PlayOnline\SquareEnix\FINAL FANTASY XI\FFXi.dll
    LoadedModule[96]=C:\Program Files (x86)\PlayOnline\SquareEnix\FINAL FANTASY XI\FFXiMain.dll
    LoadedModule[97]=C:\Program Files (x86)\PlayOnline\SquareEnix\FINAL FANTASY XI\ImeUiDll.dll
    LoadedModule[98]=C:\Program Files (x86)\PlayOnline\SquareEnix\FINAL FANTASY XI\ImeUiDll2.dll
    LoadedModule[99]=C:\Windows\system32\aticfx32.dll
    LoadedModule[100]=C:\Windows\system32\atiumdag.dll
    LoadedModule[101]=C:\Windows\system32\atiumdva.dll
    LoadedModule[102]=C:\Windows\system32\avrt.dll
    LoadedModule[103]=E:\Program Files\Windower\plugins\tparty.DLL
    LoadedModule[104]=E:\Program Files\Windower\plugins\timestamp.DLL
    LoadedModule[105]=E:\Program Files\Windower\plugins\ssorganizer.DLL
    LoadedModule[106]=C:\Windows\system32\WINHTTP.dll
    LoadedModule[107]=C:\Windows\system32\webio.dll
    LoadedModule[108]=C:\Windows\system32\credssp.dll
    LoadedModule[109]=C:\Windows\System32\wship6.dll
    LoadedModule[110]=E:\Program Files\Windower\plugins\silence.DLL
    LoadedModule[111]=E:\Program Files\Windower\plugins\recast.DLL
    LoadedModule[112]=E:\Program Files\Windower\plugins\distance.DLL
    LoadedModule[113]=E:\Program Files\Windower\plugins\consolebg.DLL
    LoadedModule[114]=E:\Program Files\Windower\plugins\guildwork.DLL
    LoadedModule[115]=C:\Windows\WinSxS\x86_microsoft.vc90.crt_1fc8b3b9 a1e18e3b_9.0.30729.6161_none_50934f2ebcb7eb57\MSVC P90.dll
    LoadedModule[116]=E:\Program Files\Windower\plugins\infobar.DLL
    FriendlyEventName=Stopped working
    ConsentKey=APPCRASH
    AppName=PlayOnline Viewer
    AppPath=C:\Program Files (x86)\PlayOnline\SquareEnix\PlayOnlineViewer\pol.e xe


    So what could it be? Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Ranger
    2600klub

    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    10,303
    BG Level
    9
    FFXIV Character
    Sonomaa Kihten
    FFXIV Server
    Gilgamesh
    FFXI Server
    Bahamut
    WoW Realm
    Durotan
    Blog Entries
    8

    looks like video card drivers. you have to understand that companies have never had a good experience with square for getting FFXI to run without issues. they arent optimized or even rigged up properly because of the way FFXI was encoded. most people end up running vastly older video card drivers to get FFXI to run properly
    sorry I cant help, but this looks like your computer is like FUCK DIS FFXI STUFF

  3. #3
    Smells like Onions
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    7
    BG Level
    0

    lol, yeah but the thing is if it was driver issue, it wouldn't have worked perfectly before i formatted my pc, and i believe that i tried the same drivers i used before formatting, and another different ones, but nothing has fixed my issue yet...

  4. #4
    jponry
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    1,369
    BG Level
    6
    FFXI Server
    Phoenix

    Can you post your motherboard and GPU models? What version of Windows were you running before and after the format?

    Code:
    UI[2]=C:\Program Files (x86)\PlayOnline\SquareEnix\PlayOnlineViewer\pol.exe
    I'm assuming you are running 64 bit with x86 branched PF folder.

  5. #5
    Smells like Onions
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    7
    BG Level
    0

    Its Gigabyte G1 assassin, Radeon 6990HD 4GB, and windows 7 ultimate 64 bit

  6. #6
    jponry
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    1,369
    BG Level
    6
    FFXI Server
    Phoenix

    Quote Originally Posted by Atrex View Post
    Its Gigabyte G1 assassin, Radeon 6990HD 4GB, and windows 7 ultimate 64 bit
    I know you said you already tried swapping drivers but do a clean install: Try removing your graphic drivers completely. Remove CCC, all additional drivers, then shutdown. Move your monitor cord directly to your motherboard, boot up. Download and reinstall the newest CCC drivers from AMD's website. Then reboot. If this doesn't solve it, there are a few other steps you can try.

  7. #7
    Smells like Onions
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    7
    BG Level
    0

    Yep i've done that with safe mode too. didn't help unfortunately D:

  8. #8
    jponry
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    1,369
    BG Level
    6
    FFXI Server
    Phoenix

    Is FFXI freezing your computer upon launcher boot or just randomly while you're playing?

  9. #9
    Smells like Onions
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    7
    BG Level
    0

    randomly when playing.
    EDIT: Ok, i guess i figured out what's the issue. I did a file check again on the game, and it said 108 files were corrupted , so it tried to repair it and it did, so i did a file check again, and it said 108 files had errors again! isn't that weird? i mean to keep finding same errors again and again even after repairing them?
    EDIT: Is it fine if i replace the corrupted files under ROM folder, with teh krizz game files?

  10. #10
    She Shoots For The Stars
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    541
    BG Level
    5
    FFXI Server
    Quetzalcoatl

    That is wierd. And if you can get the files off someone who has a working copy of FFXI that is not crashing you should be fine. It may not be repairing them properly. Also the update thing is..well..*.tmp files. I suggest you check local friends who play FFXI (if you can..)to get the offending files. Otherwise I don't know what else to say. Worst case, check your HDD for errors, then total uninstall and reinstall FFXI after backing up your macros. If you have bad sectors, there's your problem right there. I had some pretty serious crashes when my hdd was dying, it may be that why you can't repair.

  11. #11
    Smells like Onions
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    7
    BG Level
    0

    Am on a new SSD though?

  12. #12
    She Shoots For The Stars
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    541
    BG Level
    5
    FFXI Server
    Quetzalcoatl

    Eeek, then that's out of my depth. I'm used to non-ssd hdds! Still, I'd say get a friend and get the offending dats/files.

  13. #13
    Sandworm Swallows
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    7,327
    BG Level
    8

    When the file check lists the specific files, try seeing if they're flagged read-only by right-clicking them and checking their properties. Could be preventing the file check from actually overwriting them and fixing whatever related issue.

  14. #14
    Smells like Onions
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    7
    BG Level
    0

    I am not sure of the files atm, since i already replaced them :<
    EDIT: Still froze btw

  15. #15
    Melee Summoner
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    26
    BG Level
    1

    Hey guys,
    Sorry for the "necrobump" but I'm having exactly the same problem as the OP, so I was wondering if someone had a solution (especially the OP if he managed to fix it). Basically, my PC freezes randomly while I'm playing FFXI, for no apparent reason. It happened 3 times again today. I updated the graphic card drivers but it crashed again.

    I'm using Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit, FFXI with Windower 4 (I switched recently, but I think it already crashed with Windower 3), with a Sapphire Radeon HD 7870, an Intel Core i5 3570 processor and my system disk is also an SSD, like the OP.

    Thank you,
    Soily

  16. #16

    I've been dealing with this issue for a while now, tried several different things including reinstall, bunch of different graphic drivers, etc.

    I run on a laptop (Windows 7 x64, i7 Q720, HD 5870). Usually dual boxing and have Netflix or VLC playing a video on the side. The laptop would lock up after 10-15 minutes of ffxi. Temps seemed to be fine as well.

    At first, changing the power settings to High Performance solved the issue, but it started again this morning.

    Today tried disabling the "AMD High Definition Audio Device" in Device Manager, and it seems to be stable again.

  17. #17
    Nidhogg
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    3,846
    BG Level
    7
    FFXI Server
    Sylph

    Have you tried clicking the "Graphics Stabilization" box in the ffix config before launch? Many people don't know it is there, and it seems to fix a whole variety of random bullshit. It was only added 10-14 months ago iirc.

  18. #18
    Melee Summoner
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    26
    BG Level
    1

    Thanks for the suggestions, I hope one of them will work.

  19. #19
    Melee Summoner
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    26
    BG Level
    1

    Meh, I was hoping it was fixed, but yesterday night my PC froze 3 times again. It happened with both Windower 3 and 4. That's really annoying, I have no idea what causes the crashes. >_<

  20. #20

    I'm glad to see I'm not the only one experiencing this problem. I'm running Windows 7 Pro 64-bit with an EVGA GTX480 GPU and lately, I can play from 5-15 mins on average before the game freezes and the CPU goes up in the 40-50% range. This has only been happening since I re-installed the game completely, because before that, I had a similar but different issue where the game would slowly start lagging, starting with my character being stuck in the "walking" animation during battle. Then the sound would disappear from time to time and ultimately, the game would crash, either after a couple of hours of running or when trying to zone.

    I've tried going back to an old nVidia driver (266.58 WHQL) which was the last one officially approved for FFXI, but that one caused the "Black Screen" problem when the driver loads.

    I'm kind of stuck... The next thing I'm going to try is to download sever nVidia drivers, from 266.58 WHQL to 320.18 (released recently) and try to find one that:
    1. Does not cause the black screen problem.
    2. Does not freeze FFXI randomly.

    Was anyone able to fix this?

Similar Threads

  1. PC Freezing, Driver Issue?
    By Morbo666 in forum Tech
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2008-12-10, 07:46
  2. FFXI Install Freezing
    By Tyr in forum Tech
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2008-04-02, 19:56
  3. Bleh weird PC freezing.
    By Lordwafik in forum Tech
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2007-04-25, 17:55