+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 23 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast

Friend in trouble - advice appreciated

To keep it short, a close friend of mine is headed straight into an abusive relationship. All the signs are there. I grew up with an abusive step father, I know what I'm seeing and it terrifies me. It's not just his behavior, I watch my friend crumble as well. Both me and her sister are getting increasingly worried about her especially since she's planning to travel abroad with the man. I realize there is basically nothing I can do about it. I'm not very good at tackling the situation, since it's rather personal for me, I try to stay calm and not put any blame on her even when she acts poorly. It's really hard to watch someone you care about get hurt and not be able to stop it. I guess any comforting words or advice are appreciated.

P.S: I've considered hitting him with a water bottle. I'd make sure to pick a large one, freeze it properly and aim good.

King Bitcher of Bitchington
    BG Level
    FFXIV Character
    Chuggs M'koul
    FFXIV Server
    Cactuar

Tell her how you feel and your concerns. That's about all you can do, I think.

BG's most likeable Québécois
    Pens win! Pens Win!!! PENS WIN!!!!!

BG Level

Best tip, convince her to go to the autorities.

That is the safest way

First try to make her to go stay somewhere temporarly like your house.

Then send the cops to her house

Shimmy shimmy ya shimmy yam shimmy ya
    Sweaty Dick Punching Enthusiast

BG Level

The second there's domestic issues report it to the police. They might not do something right then and there but a raw data file would be open in his name. Makes it easy pickings for the DA if there's subsequent issues. The very least you can do if there's no stopping the relationship.

so he's already hit her and was unprovoked in doing so?

I would prefer not to.
    Moms Spaghetti
    Philly Special

BG Level

just to be clear in advance, is joking allowed in this thread?