+ Reply to Thread
    Shallow and Pedantic
    BG Level

Need security surveillance system

I have a truck lot that I need to get some cameras for.

I need a video surveillance system to set up on the light posts surrounding the facility.

Here is what I need:

Wireless
    Waterproof
    HD quality
    At least 3 units
    Needs to feed into a monitor that stores the video for an extended period of time in my office.

I need it to be almost plug and play aside from the wiring aspect. I would set it up, my company would buy. I'm tech savvy, but I'm not an electrician or a tech god.

My budget is around 1000, but I'll spend more.

Any recommendations?

tl;dr, Before I get too much into this, your budget and your need for plug n play basically limits you to the trash tier DVR kits. http://www.swann.com/us/4-channel-sd...-night-cameras

(Note: In no way do I recommend those, but it's about the best you can do with your requirements).

-Wireless

-Waterproof
    -HD quality

These pretty much conflict with each other. Wireless cameras are pretty much useless for outdoor use, for a few primary reasons:

#1. HD Cameras are high bandwidth devices, not in the sense that they require a lot of bandwidth individually(an HD camera typically is 5-30mbs of network load), but that each adds a significant burden and then is multiplied by every new camera. One camera will operate fine, 3-5 cameras will flood the capacity of a wireless router. Meaning you need dedicated high powered routers dedicated to just the cameras, or it's going to interfere with any other wireless devices.

#2. Water blocks wireless signals in the 2.4ghz-5ghz channels(all wifi). A 1cm thick pane of water is pretty much enough to destroy the integrity of a wireless signal.

#3. Exterior walls are the thickest of a building, and for similar reasons as #2, heavily compromise the integrity of the wireless signal if you don't have an expert installing and checking this constantly.