Item Search

BG-Wiki Search
+ Reply to Thread
    Sea Torques
    BG Level
    FFXI Server
    Asura

StoreTP Test - Regarding "Pre-Truncation" and TP/hit

As a preface, I should say that this is my first time doing an in-game test of any real substance. I don't post here at BG often and this is my first time starting a new thread here. If the thread isn't BG-worthy simply cuz it's on such a narrow topic, or because the test is so simple, or because the test is shown to be flawed or wrong, or because the test has been done/proven before but the wiki(lol) hasn't yet been updated, my apologies. 8)

What the test is about, and why I did it:The goal of this test is to get a more precise concept of how StoreTP affects TP/hit. What it's testing is whether or not the TP/hit value is truncated before the StoreTP multiplier, rather than only after StoreTP has been multiplied. Wiki(lol) says that the StoreTP is truncated only after the StoreTP multiplier...
    When calculating TP after accounting for Store TP, FFXI drops all decimal places after the first.
    ...but does not mention whether or not there is truncation before the multiplier, and it almost sounds as if its implying that there is no truncation prior to multiplying StoreTP. In any case, the reason for doing a test like this, as many would predict, is to provide more precise knowledge as to how effective certain StoreTP setups would be.

How to do the test:
    1.Pick a weapon combination.
    2.Find out the combinations TP/hit value.
    3.Pick a certain amount of StoreTP.
    4.Figure out mathematically what the end TP/hit would be after factoring StoreTP (a)if TP/hit is truncated prior to the StoreTP multiplier, and (b)if TP/hit is only truncated after the StoreTP multiplier.
    5.Make sure that the difference between the hypothetical TP/hit values of (a) & (b) are such that they do not give the same end-result TP/hit after final truncation (otherwise the test would be pointless).