• Navigation
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1

    "FFXIV Beta has stopped working" (upon start up)

    Hey all, I recently got the Asus G73J laptop and have stumbled upon an issue. Whenever I boot up the FF14 beta, a small, black window appears and soon after I get the message "FFXIV Beta has stopped working". I updated my ATI drivers to 10.7 but I've had no luck.

    Ever since I got this lappy, my video card updates have screwed something up, disabling access to the Cataclyst Control Centre usually. This has been occurring from 10.3 and on.

    Am I doing something wrong? What can I do?

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    CoP Dynamis
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    274
    BG Level
    4

    Known issue, no solution as far as I know. Most of the time, but not always, the problem comes from having video cards under the minimum requirement.

    I've heard some rumors about updating or going back to an earlier driver for your video card works, but that doesn't work in most cases I've seen.

    Check the beta forums for newer info, I'm going by what I read on the beta forums a month ago.

  3. #3

    Hm, it's an ATI 5870, so I think the requirement is met.

  4. #4
    jponry
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    1,374
    BG Level
    6
    FFXI Server
    Phoenix

    Do you have access to the CCC?

    Does it boot when you start your computer and sit in your task panel?

  5. #5
    Salvage Bans
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    974
    BG Level
    5

    5870 in a laptop? That's pretty crazy.

  6. #6
    Fake Numbers
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    82
    BG Level
    2

    i smell funny bizness, my 5850 doesnt even sit properly in my tower. you're not gonna fit one of these behemoths in a laptop

  7. #7
    Motherfucking
    NOSTRADAMUS

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    5,615
    BG Level
    8
    FFXIV Character
    Wulfgang Amadeus
    FFXIV Server
    Hyperion

    http://www.google.com/products/catal...&os=tech-specs

    ATI Mobility 5870 on this Asus. Basically as fast as a desktop 5770. From Tom's Hardware:

    "http://www.tomshardware.com/review [...] 569-6.html
    Take a look at the hierarchy chard there. The 5870m is not as fast as the desktop version, but mobility cards rarely match the performance of their same-named desktop counterparts. You can see the mobility 5870 is about where a 5770 is. Its still the best mobility card at the moment."

  8. #8

    Quote Originally Posted by xerodok View Post
    Do you have access to the CCC?

    Does it boot when you start your computer and sit in your task panel?
    I don't have access to the CCC, every time I boot my laptop, CCC will autoboot and say "CCC Host application has stopped working".

  9. #9
    Cerberus
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    429
    BG Level
    4
    FFXIV Character
    Windred Sayna
    FFXIV Server
    Hyperion
    FFXI Server
    Phoenix
    WoW Realm
    Turalyon

    What does the Application section of the Event Viewer say about the crash?

  10. #10

    Quote Originally Posted by GSDragoon View Post
    What does the Application section of the Event Viewer say about the crash?
    Not sure if this is the right thing, but does this make any sense?"

    0000000006: 2010-08-18 16:18:05:230 Exception <Killing CCC0 Process>: Process with an Id of 6080 is not running. Exception Called by: ATI.ACE.MOM.Implementation.StateMachineToolkit.Tra nsition:erformActions processID:06892 threadIDMOM_STM_DelegateThread) domainNameMOM.exe ) assemblyNameMOM.Implementation, Version=2.0.3839.36764, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=90ba9c70f846762e) ************************************************** ************************************************** ********************

  11. #11
    Fake Numbers
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    82
    BG Level
    2

    its a mobility series, of course its not working.

    try uninstalling and reinstalling the driver from scratch.

    and if not, cash in on your warranty

  12. #12
    Smells like Onions
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1
    BG Level
    0
    FFXI Server
    Valefor

    Yea all my specs match up and it still gives me this damn error

  13. #13

    Alright, did a little bit more research and it looks like 10.8 is supposed to be a fix for the G74J series.

  14. #14
    Old Lady Harem of the House of Weave
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    592
    BG Level
    5
    FFXIV Character
    Mne Jing
    FFXIV Server
    Gilgamesh
    FFXI Server
    Cerberus
    WoW Realm
    Hyjal

    I'm having some trouble with the beta too. Its only with FFXIV, no other DX9 games are giving me issues, which leads me to believe its an issue with FFXIV. This is a beta after all.......

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2011-07-09, 12:13
  2. "Itunes has stopped working."
    By Odesseiron in forum Tech
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2011-06-11, 08:10
  3. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 2010-12-22, 14:23
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2010-08-22, 13:22
  5. Playonline Viewer has stopped working.
    By Tormentormike in forum Tech
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2008-01-31, 03:46
  6. HL2.exe has stopped working.
    By Senoska in forum Tech
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2007-12-30, 20:59