+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Mac or PC advice needed     submit to reddit submit to twitter

Mac or PC advice needed

So I've been a PC guy ever since I got one (12 years ago). I basically went from XP to Vista to Win7. Went through 3 PCs (and a laptop) in those 12 years and I'm looking into buying a new one soonish.

Now the thing is: I got myself an iPhone 4 when it came out about a year ago and I really like the user interface and all. Therefor I'm considering jumping on the iMac wagon...

I solely use my PC for the following at the moment:
    -listening to music
    -surfing
    -social networking (MSN, Skype, that stuff)
    -downloading & watching series/movies
    -doing the occasional thing for work (I'm an accountant, so nothing very demanding, hardware-wise)

I've had a bit of hands-on experience with a friend's Mac Book Pro (with Leopard, I think) and I found the OS to be kind of ... irritating. I'm guessing that's normal if you've been used to Windows for 12 years so not too worried about that.

My main questions are:
    -how long does an iMac last before it gets its first signs of age, hardware-wise with about 8-10 hours of use per day?
    -are NTFS formatted external HDDs easily recognized by OS X?
    -is there a possibility to import CDs as MP3s rather than AAC on a Mac? (I know it works on Windows but not sure about OS X)
    -last but not least would you recommend a Mac for the above-mentionned tasks?

Thanks in advance for your time and your comments!

A. Body
    BG Level
    FFXI Server
    Leviathan

-how long does an iMac last before it gets its first signs of age, hardware-wise with about 8-10 hours of use per day?
    Very variable - I've seen office-use Macs over a decade old that still purr along fine. Others have problems out of the box. One consideration with iMacs - or all-in-ones in general - is that if part of it goes, you're kinda stuck with less than optimal options (I'm not a fan of the form factor, Mac or PC).