+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Recommend a Headset     submit to reddit submit to twitter

We built this city
    We built this city on cock and stooooooone

BG Level
    FFXI Server
    Alexander

Recommend a Headset

I'm in need of a new headset, but I've never actually bought one before so I'm a bit in the dark. A friend loaned me his Logitech G930, and while the audio quality was good and it was fairly comfortable, I didn't like how much it muffled outside noise. Specifically, while wearing it my own voice sounded very muffled and that was frustrating to me.

So, basic criteria:
    Good audio quality
    Wireless(preferably with usb recharge)
    Comfort
    Doesn't make my own voice sound muffled

I've been using Astro A50's for a couple of months now. I'm generally pleased with the quality in sound & wearing for extended periods of time, although after a couple of hours I will begin feeling a slight discomfort around my left ear if I move it.

The battery lasts as long as it is advertised, and its easy to just plug and play when it informs you that it is running low, for those extended play sessions. I wish the mini usb that comes with it were longer, the one I use instead for some reason doesn't fasten into the slot very well and falls out with the slightest movement, might have to mod it.

This is just a minor review on Astro A50, there are tons of different high quality headsets out there, with different pricing, although subjectively the Astro's are a tad over priced.

Relic Weapons
    BG Level
    FFXIV Character
    Eragon Mcdohl
    FFXIV Server
    Excalibur
    FFXI Server
    Leviathan

Quote Originally Posted by xerodok View Post
    I would recommend these for the ps3/4 but the surround sound doesn't work with PC so you would be paying money for the main feature which doesn't work on PC.

Relic Shield
    BG Level
    FFXI Server
    Carbuncle