The Optimistic Asshole
    Sweaty Dick Punching Enthusiast

BG Level
    FFXIV Character
    Tyche Six
    FFXIV Server
    Tonberry

Let's talk drones (as a hobby).

I'm thinking about buying myself a drone for Christmas. I have no experience flying any type of model airplane or quad copter. Heck, I haven't even driven an RC car in decades. I was looking at probably starting cheap to learn the basics. I've read really good things about the Nano QX RTF. It seems to get really good reviews and when I crash it, I won't be out hundreds of dollars. Anyone have other suggestions for beginner rigs?

As I eventually want to get into aerial video, I'll have to step up. I don't really have a budget, but want to be somewhat reasonable. I was wondering if it's best to go with a cameraless drone and attach a separate GoPro or just go with a drone with integrated video such as the Phantom 2 Vision (+). What are the other options at that $500-$1000 level?

Ridill
    BG Level
    FFXIV Character
    Sath Fenrir
    FFXIV Server
    Cactuar
    FFXI Server
    Fenrir

Newest South Park episode is all you need.

United States of Smash!
    BG Level

In that price range really the DJi Phantom 2 is the best you can get. Don't get the version with built in video get the one without and attach a gopro to it. That way you can get the GoPro4.

The Shitlord
    BG Level
    FFXIV Character
    Kharo Hadakkus
    FFXIV Server
    Hyperion
    FFXI Server
    Sylph
    WoW Realm
    Rivendare

i'd go for ones that emphasize durability. from what little i remember about remote control aircraft, the propellers can get REALLY expensive and are fairly easy to destroy. Once you've gotten good at flying, then you can move on to more capable craft.

United States of Smash!
    BG Level