+ Reply to Thread
Page 7 of 39 FirstFirst ... 5 6 7 8 9 17 ... LastLast
Results 121 to 140 of 777
  1. #121
    United States of Smash!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    7,543
    BG Level
    8

    No our mail server only exists in one location on one server. That is a good call though. The mailbox in question that is seeing the duplicate emails is a high traffic box with multiple users across multiple computers.

  2. #122
    Yoshi P
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    5,141
    BG Level
    8
    FFXIV Character
    Dead Gye
    FFXIV Server
    Lamia
    FFXI Server
    Ragnarok

    Quote Originally Posted by Niya View Post
    Considering that blowing over the contacts usually hurts more than it helps (myth busted, the breath moisture can speed up contact corrosion ), lucky coincidence ^^
    Actually, if there's dust particles or other particles blocking the contacts blowing will most definitely help it. However the moisture will slowly damage the contacts in the long run via corrosion. If you use compressed air or that difluroethane stuff you get the best of both worlds.

  3. #123
    BG's most likeable Québécois
    Pens win! Pens Win!!! PENS WIN!!!!!

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    36,636
    BG Level
    10

    I don't wanna start a new thread, but having some issues with my backup on Zimbra, and i'm feeling idiot. Also don't wanna spam this thread, so if there is a Zimbra or any Linux type mail server specialist, please PM me

    Thanks

  4. #124
    Hyperion Cross
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    7,717
    BG Level
    8
    FFXIV Character
    Kai Bond
    FFXIV Server
    Gilgamesh

    Pro-tip for Windows 2008 and above admins, someone blessed me with this ancient knowledge today. I am here to spread.

    Ever wanted to change a config (usually notepad) file in the C drive but you get shafted by permission issues even though you're admin? For example, the hosts file, You'd open it, make your modifications, and then save it somewhere else, then you cut and paste it to the intended directory.

    (I'm aware there are workarounds in place but for those that aren't allowed to for various reasons)

    Right click on notepad in start menu or wherever, run as admin
    Drag and drop the file you need to edit in notepad
    Make changes
    Save

    Quality of life +1 for me haha

  5. #125
    Special at 11:30 or w/e
    Sweaty Dick Punching Enthusiast

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    9,461
    BG Level
    8
    FFXIV Character
    Kalmado Espiritu
    FFXIV Server
    Gilgamesh
    FFXI Server
    Sylph
    Blog Entries
    4

    Per usual with Frys.com their website (again!) is magically missing the "add promo code here" box. Someone pulled this up:

    Looking at the html source code on http://www.frys.com//ShopCartServ...splay_cart , there is a coupon function

    function applyCoupon()

    And there is a commented out code with the following:

    <!-- As requested by Sameer, the following code is commented. SCR 482142 -->

    You know for sure Sameer requested to pull the coupon field out so you're forced to walk into store where they try to upsell you on a bunch of other stuf...
    Fucking new they were pulling this shit on purpose when something hot is on sale! (They do this to get people to physically come in) If this is way off someone say so and I'll eat my words. Until then, fuck Frys! (I'm salty I missed out on a deal)

    edit: Box magically appeared a few hours ago and I was able to get the mouse that was on sale for $24 (Logitech G602).

  6. #126
    Member since 2006 and still can't think of a title.
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    16,752
    BG Level
    9
    FFXIV Character
    Acanis Lindri
    FFXIV Server
    Midgardsormr
    FFXI Server
    Bismarck
    WoW Realm
    Kil'jaeden

    As someone who worked at Frys for 5 years, i'd chalk it up to incompetence of their team. For starters, they didn't even build a website, they actually purchased outpost.com just to use them as a website. The POS system they use in store is built in house, and until recently was still using an old dos version of the system due to them being too cheap to get something that works. The stores all shared a T1 line that would honestly download at about 5kbps. They expected people in service to download virus definitions on their own time at home and bring it in to the store to perform virus cleanings. At one point, Earthlink used to have a booth in our store which had it's own internet. When Earthlink left, the internet was left on so we hid a wireless router in the top stock of the keyboard/mice aisle and used that for all the downloading we needed to do for our jobs. We finally had to get rid of it after home office found out and they literally walked around the store for about 2 hours with a wifi detector trying to find the router.

  7. #127
    Special at 11:30 or w/e
    Sweaty Dick Punching Enthusiast

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    9,461
    BG Level
    8
    FFXIV Character
    Kalmado Espiritu
    FFXIV Server
    Gilgamesh
    FFXI Server
    Sylph
    Blog Entries
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by Melena View Post
    As someone who worked at Frys for 5 years, i'd chalk it up to incompetence of their team. For starters, they didn't even build a website, they actually purchased outpost.com just to use them as a website. The POS system they use in store is built in house, and until recently was still using an old dos version of the system due to them being too cheap to get something that works. The stores all shared a T1 line that would honestly download at about 5kbps. They expected people in service to download virus definitions on their own time at home and bring it in to the store to perform virus cleanings. At one point, Earthlink used to have a booth in our store which had it's own internet. When Earthlink left, the internet was left on so we hid a wireless router in the top stock of the keyboard/mice aisle and used that for all the downloading we needed to do for our jobs. We finally had to get rid of it after home office found out and they literally walked around the store for about 2 hours with a wifi detector trying to find the router.
    Wow now that's a story of fail! Do you think it had anything to do with the executive that embezzled that 65m?

  8. #128
    BG's most likeable Québécois
    Pens win! Pens Win!!! PENS WIN!!!!!

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    36,636
    BG Level
    10

    Long story but i'll try to explain the best I can

    We have a Zimbra server that is kinda dying with 4 email domain on it Domain A-B-C have about 25 emails account each and Domain D has 150. Boss decides to move all the accounts to Office 365 with my coworker while i'm on 3 weeks vacation. They said they would move Domain A-B-C because they are small and wait for me to do D : NP for now.

    Zimbra kinda requires to have an internal DNS for interdomain routing even if all the 4 domains are on the same server.

    Fastforward to Yesterday (still on vacation), boss call me for an emergency at a client and i answer his question, while waiting I ask him if they changed the domain A B C DNS on the old Zimbra server when they transfered the emails, after a 30sec silence he says No one bitched about it so we should be fine. (lawl)

    Today receive 1 email from a client saying Hi I'm from company D and the Client at company A doesn't receive my emails (I fucking new it).

    Anyway I let it slide because i'm on vacation and I was hoping people could fix it without me.

    4h Later I get an email from my coworker, that he also sent to my boss, saying that he deleted the client email on the old server and now he get an error saying that the email address doesn't exist. FUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUCKKKKKKKKKKK

    The reason why we changing server is because the backups are fucked on server and getting disk errors. The oldest backup we have is at the beginning of June.

    So Coworker just deleted some client email account when the most recent backup was from June like first or something.

    I'm going back to work on Friday and i'm already stressed out with all the stuff ima have to fix

  9. #129
    The Real Cookiemonster
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    1,679
    BG Level
    6
    FFXIV Character
    Dark Depravity
    FFXIV Server
    Sargatanas

    Quote Originally Posted by The Stig View Post
    Pro-tip for Windows 2008 and above admins, someone blessed me with this ancient knowledge today. I am here to spread.

    Ever wanted to change a config (usually notepad) file in the C drive but you get shafted by permission issues even though you're admin? For example, the hosts file, You'd open it, make your modifications, and then save it somewhere else, then you cut and paste it to the intended directory.

    (I'm aware there are workarounds in place but for those that aren't allowed to for various reasons)

    Right click on notepad in start menu or wherever, run as admin
    Drag and drop the file you need to edit in notepad
    Make changes
    Save

    Quality of life +1 for me haha
    I use notepad++, just pin it to the start menu and run it in admin mode. it lets you keep files "open", so you just run it in admin mode, keep the documents "open" (they're not open in the word sense that they're locked, they're just there as tabs in notepad++ unless you explicitly close them), so you just keep them there, save changes you make etc. and they're crazy easily accessible next time you open notepad++. I use this on a lot of the logon scripts etc. that are on the DC . No need to browse file structure etc. if you don't want to.

  10. #130
    Hyperion Cross
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    7,717
    BG Level
    8
    FFXIV Character
    Kai Bond
    FFXIV Server
    Gilgamesh

    Ah good point, I forgot you can keep stuff open in Notepad++

    While I can do it on my local system, I don't think I'll be able to get it into a server I administer due to the convoluted processes here ... the more petty the "change", the more convolution (bike shed theory). To get Notepad++ on a live server I'll need to:

    1. Test it on a test version of the live server first
    2. Raise a formal change request (installing anything is considered a change) on our ticketing system (10 minutes)
    3. Submit a 5 tab array form (a silly excel spreadsheet) to:

    - Outline the risks in doing so using a built in risk calculator where it's a 20 odd question list with predefined answers
    - Outline in micro detail the installation steps
    - Define the history, problem, reason, benefits, outage, impacts to other systems, impacts to users
    - Fully outline testing procedures and post installation test procedures
    - Fully outline a timeline of the work and any outages
    - Micro detail the roll back plan

    3. The form takes approximately 1 hour, if urgent/desperate/fully dedicated on it, or up to 8 hours (if multi tasking, as I do) to fill out
    4. It then needs to be reviewed by 2 senior managers and the change management team, where it is brutally picked apart and usually takes another day to fix anything they spot as it's traded back and forth between the person raising the change and form and the reviewers
    5. The client then needs to approve it in their weekly meeting, and the change raiser is subjected to further interrogation if anything on the form doesn't make sense to the a none technical user
    6. There's the chance for it to be rejected. The form, ticket, and everything will then need to be recreated and then submitted again

    I shy away from raising changes these days, naturally. But I do absolutely give anyone and everyone a hard time if they ask me to raise one (usually an order from a manager). This is where I rant about the ineffectiveness of this lol


    To quote a Microsoft MSDN Blog Entry from 2003, it is absolutely true:

    I'd always tell these people the same thing -- if it is only five lines of code then go write your own ActiveX object! Because yes, you are absolutely right -- it would take me approximately five minutes to add that feature to the VBScript runtime library. But how many Microsoft employees does it actually take to change a lightbulb?

    • One dev to spend five minutes implementing ChangeLightBulbWindowHandleEx.
    • One program manager to write the specification.
    • One localization expert to review the specification for localizability issues.
    • One usability expert to review the specification for accessibility and usability issues.
    • At least one dev, tester and PM to brainstorm security vulnerabilities.
    • One PM to add the security model to the specification.
    • One tester to write the test plan.
    • One test lead to update the test schedule.
    • One tester to write the test cases and add them to the nightly automation.
    • Three or four testers to participate in an ad hoc bug bash.
    • One technical writer to write the documentation.
    • One technical reviewer to proofread the documentation.
    • One copy editor to proofread the documentation.
    • One documentation manager to integrate the new documentation into the existing body of text, update tables of contents, indexes, etc.
    • Twenty-five translators to translate the documentation and error messages into all the languages supported by Windows.The managers for the translators live in Ireland (European languages) and Japan (Asian languages), which are both severely time-shifted from Redmond, so dealing with them can be a fairly complex logistical problem.
    • A team of senior managers to coordinate all these people, write the cheques, and justify the costs to their Vice President.
    Full entry: http://blogs.msdn.com/b/ericlippert/...lightbulb.aspx

  11. #131
    BG's most likeable Québécois
    Pens win! Pens Win!!! PENS WIN!!!!!

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    36,636
    BG Level
    10

    Universal asking Google to remove 127.0.0.1 for piracy

    https://www.chillingeffects.org/notices/10969223

  12. #132
    United States of Smash!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    7,543
    BG Level
    8

    Anyone with experience with ios know where they moved the password field in the mail app? I just realized today because I had a client who changed their email password and when I went to update the password in their iphone I didn't see the password field under advanced anymore. WTF! did they move it somewhere else or did they get rid of it completely? I tried looking it up and found no information for ios 8.3/.4 just earlier versions.

    As far as I can see the only thing you can do if your email password changes is to delete your account and remake it.

  13. #133

    Settings >> Mail, Contacts, Calendars >> Account name (Exchange/Gmail) >>Account (Normally has their e-mail next to it) >> Password

    That's where i've always changed it.

  14. #134
    Relic Horn
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    3,410
    BG Level
    7
    FFXIV Character
    Purrrfect Lee
    FFXIV Server
    Hyperion
    FFXI Server
    Cerberus

    Quote Originally Posted by Ratatapa View Post
    Universal asking Google to remove 127.0.0.1 for piracy

    https://www.chillingeffects.org/notices/10969223
    lol that is awesome

  15. #135
    United States of Smash!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    7,543
    BG Level
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by Yabby View Post
    Settings >> Mail, Contacts, Calendars >> Account name (Exchange/Gmail) >>Account (Normally has their e-mail next to it) >> Password

    That's where i've always changed it.
    Yeah have you done that recently? As in ios 8.3 or 8.4? It isn't there any more. That is my point.

  16. #136

    I'm looking at my work phone (iphone) ... 8.4 ..... yes... it is still there.


    Edit: I see your issue now. When you setup an account using exchange it allows for easy password changing, but the gmail account i just setup does not.

  17. #137
    Piece of shit Bruins fan

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    5,520
    BG Level
    8
    FFXIV Character
    Beat Daisukenojo
    FFXIV Server
    Hyperion

    Doing a RAM utilization report for our two VMware clusters to determine if we need to buy more RAM.

    Found out that our Citrix server was installed on a 32-bit Win2K3 install.

    It has 8 GB of RAM allocated to the VM.

    I work with awesome people.

  18. #138
    United States of Smash!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    7,543
    BG Level
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by Yabby View Post
    I'm looking at my work phone (iphone) ... 8.4 ..... yes... it is still there.


    Edit: I see your issue now. When you setup an account using exchange it allows for easy password changing, but the gmail account i just setup does not.
    Now that you mention it I am only seeing that issue on my gmail accounts my imap accounts all still have the password field available. I wonder if this issue extends to other web based email like yahoo etc.

  19. #139
    Member since 2006 and still can't think of a title.
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    16,752
    BG Level
    9
    FFXIV Character
    Acanis Lindri
    FFXIV Server
    Midgardsormr
    FFXI Server
    Bismarck
    WoW Realm
    Kil'jaeden

    Jesus fuck, swap one person's monitor and the vultures come tearing out. I can't wait till I can get everyone else fucking upgraded. It's a god damn travesty that I have people dealing with budget and expense reports still working on a 17" 4:3 aspect ratio lcd monitor.

  20. #140

    We once kept almost 200 new monitors in the back for two months while we got enough money to update everyone at the same time, just so we didn't have to listen to that bullshit. It must be so hard to work on a smaller screen... which you have been using for over 3 years... when someone next to you has 2 more inches......

+ Reply to Thread
Page 7 of 39 FirstFirst ... 5 6 7 8 9 17 ... LastLast

Quick Reply Quick Reply

  • Decrease Size
    Increase Size
  • Remove Text Formatting
  • Insert Link Insert Image Insert Video
  • Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
  • Insert NSFW Tag
  • Insert Spoiler Tag