Item Search

BG-Wiki Search
+ Reply to Thread
    CoP Dynamis
    BG Level

Does anyone know how FFXI was 'created'? Which programming languages did they use for client/server

Im a programmer, but i work on "normal" windows programms, no games. But it would still be interessting to know how they made this game. There are some private server, so some people must know/understand how they made this game? Im mostly interessted in the skill/spells part.

Hyperion Cross
    BG Level
    FFXIV Character
    Kai Bond
    FFXIV Server
    Gilgamesh

In before http://foodnetwork.sndimg.com/conten...-Spaghetti.jpg

Otherwise on a serious note, I've not looked at it myself but would looking into the private servers help? Or are they more scripts than code? People have recreated the game and also changed elements of it entirely on a private server. Not sure if that would really get into the root of the code.

Otherwise I'm sure many are curious to know given the amount of things that were broken randomly in its past

Melee Summoner
    BG Level
    FFXI Server
    Bahamut

Pretty much all console games are written in C/C++ with heavy bits of assembly thrown in for performance (unless you wanna go back to the 8 bit era then pretty much just assembly, they didn't even use things like animated gifs for say a tile of floor that has an animated lava effect, it would be turned into some kind of low cpu cost color cycle function due to space requirements). So it really depends, if I remember they used maya for making their models, but I read that like, 10 years ago so I could remember wrong. They also use a ps2 dev kit, which no more supply of them is one major reason they are ending console support and moving to a mobile platform.

Can't post link b/c I don't have 10 posts but google image search "ps2 dev kit tool-back.jpg" and it's the first result