Item Search
     
BG-Wiki Search
+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 41 to 53 of 53
  1. #41

    Quote Originally Posted by atom0s View Post
    Yeah, something on your system is causing the need for both folders as that is not needed on a stock Windows install with no AV or similar type of application running.
    Just tried on virgin install of Windows 10 on a brand new hard drive with a brand new motherboard and video card (MSI Z370-A Pro and a Core I5 8600K with an ATI RX560) with no anti virus or anything else other than the video card and motherboard drivers installed and had the exact same problem. Still had to put the DLL and INI in both the Playonline viewer directory and FFXI directory to get it to work. Note also that I'm running the CPU and RAM at stock speeds only (I only bought the K version because I got it on sale for $215.00).

  2. #42
    Relic Weapons
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    323
    BG Level
    4
    FFXI Server
    Leviathan
    WoW Realm
    Madoran

    Are you playing on retail or a private server?

  3. #43

    Quote Originally Posted by atom0s View Post
    Are you playing on retail or a private server?
    Retail

  4. #44
    Relic Weapons
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    323
    BG Level
    4
    FFXI Server
    Leviathan
    WoW Realm
    Madoran

    v1.1.0.0 Released
    https://forums.ashitaxi.com/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=855

    Changes
    - CHG: Removed the anti-Windower blocks; the library has been deemed stable at this point so there is no need to block it any longer.
    - CHG: Updated the project to VS2017. (Dropped support for Windows XP.)

    Anti-Windower Support Removed

    Hello everyone, this update of the proxy has the anti-Windower code removed; allowing this library to work for all clients now. (Ashita, Windower, Stock Retail, etc.) At this point in time, the proxy has been deemed stable and thus no longer needs to have this block in place to avoid conflicting reports.

    Please note; while this will now work with Windower, I do not support Windower in any capacity. I do not use or touch Windower at all so you are on your own if you decide to use this with Windower. You are free to report general bugs and issues but if you have crashes or other Windower related problems, you will not get any support for things like that.

    Ashita is still the recommended platform to use with this proxy as it is what it was made with, for, and tested against.

    You will also now need to install the VS2017 Redist for this to work. You can download that here:
    https://aka.ms/vs/15/release/vc_redist.x86.exe

    (Again, this is a 32bit project, you must install the 32bit version of the redist. not the 64bit version for this to work!)

    Donations are welcome here: https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/websc...=7U7Q2GRT6KUJN

  5. #45
    i should really shut up
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    3,464
    BG Level
    7
    FFXI Server
    Asura

    Quote Originally Posted by atom0s View Post
    v1.1.0.0 Released

    Changes
    - CHG: Removed the anti-Windower blocks; the library has been deemed stable at this point so there is no need to block it any longer.
    The block didn't need to exist, and dgVoodoo was already a thing.

  6. #46
    Relic Weapons
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    323
    BG Level
    4
    FFXI Server
    Leviathan
    WoW Realm
    Madoran

    Quote Originally Posted by Spicyryan View Post
    The block didn't need to exist, and dgVoodoo was already a thing.
    Congrats on having your opinion.

  7. #47

    Quote Originally Posted by Spicyryan View Post
    The block didn't need to exist, and dgVoodoo was already a thing.
    DGVoodoo doesn't render fogging effects on static mobs correctly. e.g. trees in Zi'tah, all outposts, ferry, etc. On the plus side, it's faster and doesn't have z fighting problems.

  8. #48
    Relic Weapons
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    323
    BG Level
    4
    FFXI Server
    Leviathan
    WoW Realm
    Madoran

    For those using dgVoodoo, I discovered a memory leak in the official release while helping a friend debug a crash that affects FFXI and certain things (Ashita, Windower, etc.) that deal with custom rendering.
    I reported this and it has been fixed in the latest package which can be found here:
    Code:
    http://dege.fw.hu/dgVoodoo2/dgVoodoo2_55_4_1.zip
    http://dege.fw.hu/dgVoodoo2/dgVoodoo2_55_4_1_dbg.zip
    This crash/issue will cause POL to eat memory consistently when certain things are being rendered to a point where it will crash. Happens most commonly when using Ashita or Windower and using something custom rendered, such as Ashita's in-game UI system with ImGui or similar. This new update for dgVoodoo fixes it.

  9. #49

    Quote Originally Posted by atom0s View Post
    For those using dgVoodoo, I discovered a memory leak in the official release while helping a friend debug a crash that affects FFXI and certain things (Ashita, Windower, etc.) that deal with custom rendering.
    I reported this and it has been fixed in the latest package which can be found here:
    Code:
    http://dege.fw.hu/dgVoodoo2/dgVoodoo2_55_4_1.zip
    http://dege.fw.hu/dgVoodoo2/dgVoodoo2_55_4_1_dbg.zip
    This crash/issue will cause POL to eat memory consistently when certain things are being rendered to a point where it will crash. Happens most commonly when using Ashita or Windower and using something custom rendered, such as Ashita's in-game UI system with ImGui or similar. This new update for dgVoodoo fixes it.
    Have they fixed the fog rendering bug with FFXI yet?

  10. #50
    Relic Weapons
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    323
    BG Level
    4
    FFXI Server
    Leviathan
    WoW Realm
    Madoran

    Couldn't say, I don't use dgVoodoo, and didn't really know about it til after I made this project.

  11. #51
    i should really shut up
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    3,464
    BG Level
    7
    FFXI Server
    Asura

    Recently met up with a bunch of XI players IRL who were having performance issues resolved by your Direct X patch, Atom0s.

    Thanks, stickied the post as a result.

  12. #52

    WineD3D wrapper for windows works with FFXI and doesn't have any Z fighting issues. It actually fixes some Z fighting problems that FFXI has normally when using actual D3D8 such as the flickering on Roc's wings and NPC armor textures in Abyssea.

    http://fdossena.com/?p=wined3d/index.frag

    Unfortunately it's not compatible with Widower and would probably require support directly in Windower to even work seeing as it's wrapping D3D8 to either Open-GL or Vulkan depending on which version you use. But FFXI has never looked better when run with it.

  13. #53

    This is the best one I have found:

    https://github.com/elishacloud/dxwrapper

    With this you can run FFXI at 1x resolution with application native FSAA (i.e. no downsampling) and with shadows set to high with no effect on performance. With other wrappers I have tried forcing on FSAA and setting shadows to high turns the game into a slideshow.

    Put dxwrapper.dll dxwrapper.ini and d3d8.DLL in the Playonlineviewer directory then edit the dxwrapper.ini and under "compatibility" set d3d8to9 to 1 (enabled) and under D3D9 set Antialiasing to 1 (enabled).

    The only issue I have found with this is that in some areas such as Selbina "normal" (blob) shadows can spread out over a whole floor polygon and cause some visual artifacts but with how "high" shadows basically do not impact performance with this wrapper there's no reason to ever not use "high" shadows anyway.

    You could also of course run the game with 2x downsampling *and* native FSAA if you wanted to.

    If you want to make sure the wrapper is working try to delete the D3D8.dll you placed the the playonlinevewer directory if it refuses because it's in use then it's working.

    EDIT: Forget what I said about FSAA I forgot that windower was forcing 2x rendering and downsampling so when I edited the registry settings windower would revert the changes. That said "high" shadows are still very efficient this with this wrapper. Spinning the camera is a high traffic area and then toggling between high and no shadows makes no FPS difference.

Quick Reply Quick Reply

  • Decrease Size
    Increase Size
  • Remove Text Formatting
  • Insert Link Insert Image Insert Video
  • Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
  • Insert NSFW Tag
  • Insert Spoiler Tag

Similar Threads

  1. Can Free-to-Play Model Work For FFXI? If So How?
    By Gwynplaine in forum FFXI: Everything
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 2012-06-28, 13:56
  2. Can you use prepaid visa cards to pay for ffxi?
    By Kiyuan98 in forum FFXI: Everything
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2008-03-25, 18:02
  3. DO GM's DO SHIT for FFXI but ban good players?
    By Aleingarn in forum FFXI: Everything
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 2006-09-15, 05:42
  4. Best graphics card for FFXI?
    By Vinsent in forum FFXI: Everything
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2006-07-12, 17:04
  5. Isnt it depressing to camp the same 3NMS for the past 3yrs?
    By Twentytwo in forum FFXI: Everything
    Replies: 189
    Last Post: 2006-06-21, 20:27
  6. UDP/TCP or Port number for FFXI
    By Shinobi in forum FFXI: Everything
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2006-02-03, 01:20
  7. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2005-08-08, 21:06
  8. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2004-09-17, 13:51