+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Excel questions     submit to reddit submit to twitter

Member since 2006 and still can't think of a title.
    BG Level
    FFXIV Character
    Acanis Lindri
    FFXIV Server
    Midgardsormr
    FFXI Server
    Bismarck
    WoW Realm
    Kil'jaeden

Excel questions

Going to start this off with the disclaimer that i'm an execl noob and this is probably something really simple.

I need to create a simple excel sheet for mileage tracking for Uber. It's essentially going to be 5 columns, 1 for each date.

Column A= Date
    Column B= Starting Miles
    Column C= Ending Miles
    Column D= Total Miles
    Column E= Running yearly total of miles.

So what i'm essentially trying to do for each row to automatically have it take Column C, Subtract Column B from it and put it in Column D. Column E then will be an addition to each line in Column D so when I add the next date, it automatically updates. How can I do this? The only formula I can figure out is to manually change it on each line. So one formula would be Column C Row 3 Minus Column B Row 3 then for the next row I have to manually update it.

Any automatic way to automate this?

Ridill
    BG Level
    FFXIV Character
    Satori Komeiji
    FFXIV Server
    Sargatanas
    FFXI Server
    Asura

Can you copy paste the formula to the next line? I know in google sheets it'll adjust all the variables to the next row. Dunno how Excel works.

Like you'd be writing the columns like so.

Wherein you'd manually update Column B and C.

Hackey Thread Lurker since 2010
    I could have bought an 11 pull and have 1000 gems left over, but all I got was this silly title.

BG Level

On Excel, Column D will be =SUM(C2-B2). Then you should be able to drag the bottom right of the cell downwards to have it continue for each row.

Bottom right of the cell there's that tiny thicker box. Click and hold and drag it down Column D

It will be correct when Row 3 is =SUM(C3-B3) and Row 4 has it for row 4, etc.