FFXIV Character
    Kalmado Espiritu
    FFXIV Server
    Gilgamesh
    FFXI Server
    Sylph
    Blog Entries

Your Privacy and how you have none

Didn't see a thread pertaining to this as a broad subject except the NSA one and that's over a year old. I've been looking at a VPN and trying to do more research (made a brief thread in Tech). I don't believe Big Brother is out to get me, but it's no ones business what I do every second of the day online or in person.

I work in insurance sales for one of the largest companies in the US, but I work in an office of four at the local level. My boss is slightly paranoid about Corporate Big Brother and personal information is a huge topic for us. We heard possibilities that US insurance companies are starting to buy peoples information from various outlets and use it as a way to factor your insurance score which creates your rate.

I took a call today from a guy that has a 2017 Camry. We rate it for low miles because he told us he drives less than X-miles per year. Well, he gets a letter from corporate saying he's driving more than the discount allows and will be charged as such. Guy says he hasn't owned the car for even a year and how would we know? Said he even just had is first service done at the Toyota dealership.

While we have no evidence, more than likely our company buys information from car dealers and large shops like Belle Tire where they record that information. To us that is quite alarming as your info at your car dealer isn't even safe.

Any other stories or cases where personal info you think isn't being sold or given out is?

Was under the impression stuff like car mileage, service dates, and accident history were typically logged for a mix of things like carfax or just general consumer awareness if you know to look for it when buying a car (secondhand). So, I'm not really sure I'd call that a severe breach of privacy.