+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    United States of Smash!
    BG Level

Installing Windows on USB Drive

Hello Everyone. I work in IT but my environment has been completely mac based for the last 6 years. Now I need to start learning windows again and understanding windows 7 and 10 better.

The beginning of this is that I need to know if there is a good way to create a bootable windows 7 and 10 usb drive. What is all of yours favorite method for doing this? I don't know if I have a Win 7 iso so if there is a way to duplicate an existing laptop running win 7 onto a USB drive so I can boot from it that would be great. I do have a win 10 iso so what is your favorite method to create a bootable win 10 usb from iso?

Second issue is what is your favorite method to transfer a running system from one Hard drive to another? I need to move from a spinning disk hdd to an SSD on a couple of laptops then install the SSD's into the laptops.

I have heard Acronis is good for this but I believe I need to create that bootable USB first and install Acronis on it so I can copy the internal spinning disk drives over to the SSD's (in drive sleds).

Anyone willing to help me out get started with how to image and move OS installs around on windows machines please?

Thanks!

Ironing this Thread
    Sweaty Dick Punching Enthusiast

BG Level
    FFXIV Character
    Boyiee Star
    FFXIV Server
    Gilgamesh
    WoW Realm
    Kel'Thuzad

Google Windows Media Creation Tool and get it from Microsoft, put that on a USB. That's your bootable windows 10 install/etc.

I am pretty lightweight with my drives, I keep OS on a separate SSD and when moving PC's I just format that one and plug and play the rest. If I really need to move stuff to a new drive I either install it in the current system and copy paste or just transfer to external. I don't have any drives bigger than 500gb. Windows installs pretty fast.

United States of Smash!
    BG Level