Item Search
     
BG-Wiki Search
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Melee Summoner
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    31
    BG Level
    1

    everytime i zone i d/c -.-

    is there any reason anyone here can think of for why when i zone i disconnect? im workin @ the panera bread ( a coffee shop in the US) and it seems to only happen while im here.

    do i need to change some settings or anything?



    edit: the connectio is WiFi and it works fine when i zone, it doesnt lose its signal or anything

  2. #2

    do you have some sort of independant firewall on your system?

    my zonealarm often Dc's me when I zone, usually after I have downloaded an update for FF11

  3. #3
    Old Merits
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    1,070
    BG Level
    6

    you can play at work? >.>

    btw I love panera sandwiches.

  4. #4
    Melee Summoner
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    30
    BG Level
    1

    glad you got outta that shithole Dick's

  5. #5
    Not Killing Ganon
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    1,273
    BG Level
    6
    FFXI Server
    Siren

    mm panera break, hook me up with some brocolli cheddar in a bread bowl pls

    anyway does anything else on your pc dc when you zone? like do you have any instant messengers running and those also DC when you zone? also make sure you're not running any wierd personal firewall stuff like a poster above said

  6. #6

    Quote Originally Posted by Killgannon
    mm panera break, hook me up with some brocolli cheddar in a bread bowl pls
    Brocolli Cheddar 4tmfw.

  7. #7
    New Spam Forum
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    186
    BG Level
    3
    FFXI Server
    Bahamut

    lol @ Nag trying to find excuses for his countless DCs

  8. #8
    Old Merits
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    1,127
    BG Level
    6

    Do you dc or do you crash? Is it just a particular zone or whatever zone you're in? If it's a particular zone and you're crashing, chances are it's the music file, for some reason that happens quite often

  9. #9
    New Spam Forum
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    154
    BG Level
    3

    Could be the same thing as what happens with some flee hacks. If your client isn't updating the server with your position at zone, possibly even a while before, it has problems and will simply dc you. Would make sense as you are on wireless, even if connection is fine, few packets could be getting missed/lost. If you don't have the same problem while wired, I would assume this is what's happening.

  10. #10
    Melee Summoner
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    31
    BG Level
    1

    lol..i dont work at panera im still at dickholes chly.


    but no firewall up and runnin and it just times out after i zone everytime. i have messangers and shit runnin and they never cut when i zone.


    i assume its what raylinn says is happenin, so i suppose theres really nothing i can do about it.


    sucks it took me like 30 mins to get from altepa>>zone/d/c>>whitegate>>zone/d/c>>jeuno>>zone/d/c>>rolanberry>>zone/d/c>>crawlersnest>>zone d/c, for a bumpin exp pt >.<;;

    also i notice like if im mog house zonin from one place to another such as like rulude to port it doesnt cut me out. or if i zone in and out of my mog house it doesnt d/c me, only when i zone into a whole new area

  11. #11
    This isnt going so well guys.
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    3,735
    BG Level
    7
    FFXI Server
    Bahamut

    Quote Originally Posted by nagchampa
    lol..i dont work at panera im still at dickholes chly.


    but no firewall up and runnin and it just times out after i zone everytime. i have messangers and shit runnin and they never cut when i zone.


    i assume its what raylinn says is happenin, so i suppose theres really nothing i can do about it.


    sucks it took me like 30 mins to get from altepa>>zone/d/c>>whitegate>>zone/d/c>>jeuno>>zone/d/c>>rolanberry>>zone/d/c>>crawlersnest>>zone d/c, for a bumpin exp pt >.<;;

    also i notice like if im mog house zonin from one place to another such as like rulude to port it doesnt cut me out. or if i zone in and out of my mog house it doesnt d/c me, only when i zone into a whole new area
    I use to have the problem on my old pc when i first started, quick question... Do you dc before you see the new zone your in? Or do you d/c the second you start moving in that new zone?

  12. #12
    Melee Summoner
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    45
    BG Level
    1

    I used to have this -exact- problem when I travelled. I'd get into some hotel where the wifi service worked fine for other things, but when I tried to zone in FFXI it would sit at downloading data for 3 minutes, then dc.

    Basically, there's a UDP port being blocked somewhere, I'm guess it's the status port.

    You're screwed. Sorry.

  13. #13
    ExcaliMod
    Paper Towels? Who needs paper towels, Under the sink they go!

    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    4,965
    BG Level
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by Asrun
    I used to have this -exact- problem when I travelled. I'd get into some hotel where the wifi service worked fine for other things, but when I tried to zone in FFXI it would sit at downloading data for 3 minutes, then dc.

    Basically, there's a UDP port being blocked somewhere, I'm guess it's the status port.

    You're screwed. Sorry.
    From my experiences, this is it

  14. #14

    whoa a nagchampa on another server

  15. #15
    Melee Summoner
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    31
    BG Level
    1

    D:

Quick Reply Quick Reply

  • Decrease Size
    Increase Size
  • Remove Text Formatting
  • Insert Link Insert Image Insert Video
  • Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
  • Insert NSFW Tag
  • Insert Spoiler Tag

Similar Threads

  1. Everytime I see ...... I die inside.
    By Razz in forum FFXI: Everything
    Replies: 347
    Last Post: 2006-02-17, 17:03
  2. New Dynamis Zones...nightmare mobs drop items?
    By Nicholas in forum FFXI: Everything
    Replies: 50
    Last Post: 2006-02-15, 02:08
  3. Is anyone having trouble zoning?
    By Lordwafik in forum FFXI: Everything
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2006-01-21, 08:50
  4. New Dynamis Zones Drops - Updated 12/27 w/ AF2-1
    By Lui in forum FFXI: Everything
    Replies: 80
    Last Post: 2005-12-27, 17:20
  5. FFXI zone visual design and PS2(?)
    By berticus in forum FFXI: Everything
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: 2005-11-02, 13:38
  6. what light do galkas lose when they zone into altaieu?
    By berticus in forum FFXI: Everything
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 2005-04-21, 00:07
  7. PROMATHIA ZONES AND MUSIC
    By joft in forum FFXI: Everything
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2004-09-16, 00:33