+ Reply to Thread

Can any military history buffs help me out?

I'm currently a freshman in college not taking any military history/science courses but am very interested in self teaching or learning my self. Does anyone know any good basic text books or books in general to get me started?

edit: fixed error in title

Re: Can any military history buffs can help me out?

wikipedia.org?

DEUS VULT
    FITE ME

BG Level
    Blog Entries

John Keegan's The Mask of Command and The Face of Battle are both excellent introductions to military history, tactics, and criticism. He is an excellent writer, managing to avoid the usual scholarly pitfall of dry and unaccessable text. His descriptions of Alexander the Great's campaign as well as the Battle of Agincourt are phenominal.

The Mizzle Fizzle of Nikkei's Haremizzle

BG Level
    FFXI Server
    Bismarck

I've read "The face of Battle" when I was in College, like Isladar said it is a really good introduction to history. I wanted to major in history but I decided to go the Comp. Engineering, but to this day I am still an avid history buff to no end. I like to read advanced politics and ancient history personally.

Go with what Islader said and you should be good to go. When you get a little into history let me know and I'll be happy to give you a list of more detailed information.

Good Luck with everything Seigfried.

Just buy a textbook. Unless you're looking for something along the lines of a history with threads of fiction you'll get as much out of a history text as anything else.

I recommend ancient - 20th century russian history and eastern european....well really any history from about italy to japan from ancient times til about 150 years ago is very interesting.

American history I find very boring simply becuase it's so young, 200 years isn't history compared to the rest of the world however if you're interested in military history alone we've sure made the most of our 200 years in killing people.