+ Reply to Thread

Thread: FFXI on Xbox 360     submit to reddit submit to twitter

Sea Torques
    BG Level

FFXI on Xbox 360

I've been playing FFXI on PC for 5 years, but now I'm considering getting it for Xbox 360 as well to dual box my 2 accounts (room gets too hot and noisy with 2 computers on) and have a few questions.

Is the UI really http://youtube.com/watch?v=I4qmwun4x0U this ugly in 720p? It's huge like Xbox, with an annoying centered positioning that blocks even more of the view. I assume there is nothing you can do about it? I'm used to running the overlay in 1440x900 on a much smaller monitor than my HDTV, so it would probably make my eyes bleed for a long time. Are there any other annoyances with the Xbox 360 version I should know about?

Does anyone have any recommendation for a cheap wireless keyboard with good F-keys, numpad and a decent range? Anything similar to laptop keyboards (with numpads) would be good. I prefer low keys and a compact layout. Are there are any compatibility issues with wireless USB keyboards with 360 or FFXI, or will most work without problems?

Any other comments or opinions about the Xbox 360 version is appreciated as well.

I Am, Who I Am.
    BG Level
    FFXIV Character
    Trixi Sephyuyx
    FFXIV Server
    Excalibur
    FFXI Server
    Ragnarok

Supposedly if you have an HDTV you can change the res of XI, but if you dont itll look like PS2.

Hydra
    BG Level
    FFXI Server
    Valefor
    WoW Realm
    Barthilas

Yes, if you've got the HDTV Resolution, it's a lot more like the PC version. The basic version is just like PS2, however, it is a bit smoother.

If you've got the newer XBOX360, you can use the HDMI port or the Y/Pr/Pb component cables to hook the console to your display. The older XBOX360 models (like mine) have to use the Y/Pr/Pb cables or a HD-V Cable (Japan). I use the 2nd option since my TV does not have the Y/Pr/Pb inputs... Works great.