LazyShell
    BG Level

Thinking about overclocking my CPU

Before I begin, specs (copy pasted from a thread I made when I got it):
    Spoiler: show
    Specs:
    Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E8400, LGA775
    Mobo: Gigabyte S-Series GA-P35-DS3L
    Graphics Card: Sapphire Radeon HD 4870 (512MB/GDDR5)
    RAM: Corsair Dominator 2 x 2GB DDR 1066MHz
    HDD: 500GB Wester Digital SATA 7200RPM 3.0GB/s 16MB Cache
    PSU: Antec 650W ATX12V v2.2 (didn't buy on newegg, but I believe its this.)

I got a new computer a couple months ago, and have been running it more or less with very little customization / overclocking. A few weeks after I got it, I found that thread that explained how to up the fanspeed on my video card, which massively reduced its temperature. So I decided to try overclocking that a bit, because I figured I could get it away with it now. I have very little experience with overclocking so I played it safe and did ATI's built in Auto-Tune feature, which took me all the way to 790Mhz GPU clock and 1100 Mhz memory clock without any significant increases in temperature in idle or high load; I tried a couple hours of Crysis afterwords to make sure. I noticed an improvement for sure, but I don't know how much (I didn't do a before/after diag)

Anyways, this all brings me back to the main topic. After seeing how easy I could overclock the GPU without a hit to temps (and only to the max that the catalyst control center allows) I started thinking about maybe doing it for the CPU as well. It seems like the bottleneck in my system at stock 3.0GHz, but overclocking it seems a bit more scary to me, especially since I only have the stock fan/heatsink that comes with the E8400.

So anyways, some questions...
    Could I get away with overclocking my CPU even with the stock fan/heatsink? If so, how much? Would it be worth it?