Item Search
     
BG-Wiki Search
+ Reply to Thread
Page 11 of 328 FirstFirst ... 9 10 11 12 13 21 61 ... LastLast
Results 201 to 220 of 6548
  1. #201
    Ridill
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    22,182
    BG Level
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by Aikar View Post
    you're posting on the 2.30 thread but using 2.22 >_>
    My bad, I made the dumb assumption that the version on windower site would've been 2.3 by now heh.

    So I guess you're saying you can spam shit without crashing now.

  2. #202
    Salvage Bans
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    825
    BG Level
    5

    When I was doing some optimization of my XML under 2.22, I noticed that modifying sets was surprisingly slow, so you pay a penalty for changing what goes in a slot multiple times with different rules. Is it faster to use variables for this?

    Also if you have when="aftercast|idle|engaged|resting", don't; that doubles the time spent on modifying sets, as it modifies both the aftercast and the autoset sets even though only one of them is going to get used.

  3. #203
    Yoshi P
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    5,360
    BG Level
    8
    WoW Realm
    Arthas

    Quote Originally Posted by GuntarHolyFlame View Post
    I would define a variable $hasteHands and have it default to Dusk Gloves (or whatever you use), then put it in your haste set and make your rule change $hasteHands to Koga Tekko per the nighttime rules.

    This way your rule will trigger the variable change immediately, but you won't be wearing the Koga until a rule actually swaps in your Haste set.

    EDIT:
    Code:
    <sets>
    ...
        <group name="Haste">
            ...
            <hands>$hasteHands</hands>
            ...
        </group>
    ...
    </sets>
    
    <variables>
    ...
        <var name="hasteHands">Dusk Gloves</var>
    ...
    </variables>
    
    <rules>
    ...
        <if mode="OR" TimeLT="6.00" TimeGT="17.59">
    	<action type=“Var” cmd=“set hasteHands Koga Tekko” /> 
        </if>
        <else>
    	<action type=“Var” cmd=“set hasteHands Dusk Gloves” /> 
        </else>
    ...
    </rules>
    Extremely late reply but I tried this exactly as shown here and it didn't work, I just end up with dusk hands regardless of time.

  4. #204

    Quote Originally Posted by fantasticdan View Post
    Extremely late reply but I tried this exactly as shown here and it didn't work, I just end up with dusk hands regardless of time.
    From what that code looks like, it should work. Are you testing it only in your moghouse? The variable wont change unless its night time and you perform an action that causes spellcast to go through the rules.

  5. #205
    Yoshi P
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    5,360
    BG Level
    8
    WoW Realm
    Arthas

    Quote Originally Posted by ShinseiRyu View Post
    From what that code looks like, it should work. Are you testing it only in your moghouse? The variable wont change unless its night time and you perform an action that causes spellcast to go through the rules.
    Tested while outside fighting stuff. I'm not sure what you mean by "go through the rules", is there something special I need to be doing with my macros or something to get it to check the rules when swapping gear?

  6. #206

    Quote Originally Posted by fantasticdan View Post
    Tested while outside fighting stuff. I'm not sure what you mean by "go through the rules", is there something special I need to be doing with my macros or something to get it to check the rules when swapping gear?
    I just meant that if you were testing inside mog house, that Spellcast only processes things on actions so the rule that changed the variable for the hands would only process on an action.

  7. #207
    Fake Numbers
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    96
    BG Level
    2
    FFXI Server
    Odin

    Quote Originally Posted by fantasticdan View Post
    Tested while outside fighting stuff. I'm not sure what you mean by "go through the rules", is there something special I need to be doing with my macros or something to get it to check the rules when swapping gear?
    SpellCast is reactive. It will only go through the rules when you perform an action, such as a spell, or a JA, or engaging, etc. Some people use a macro like
    Code:
    /ma "Holy II" <t>
    that triggers the rules, but will never actually perform the action.

    Your specific case is like mine, but I added a when="engaged" so pulling out my weapon to fight would trigger it automatically. I had a when="idle" rule to put my Myochin Kote +1 back on when not engaged so I wouldn't incur the movement speed penalty. This will always process the variable change, even if you have a menu open, disallowing equip swaps to actually succeed. I get around this with a bind to ctrl+f1 that runs ".sc s idle;" and swaps my set in after I'm out of the prohibitive menu.

    You could build that into your rule as well, but this still will not automatically change the hands variable until you force the rules to process as I described above.

  8. #208
    Yoshi P
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    5,360
    BG Level
    8
    WoW Realm
    Arthas

    I don't think that's the issue. I have "/sc set Haste" (which contains the $hasteHands variable for the handslot) in my utsusemi macros for example, and the gear swap works, it just never loads koga tekko. My ni shadow cancel for casting ichi rules work fine when using the same macros.

  9. #209
    Fake Numbers
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    96
    BG Level
    2
    FFXI Server
    Odin

    Quote Originally Posted by fantasticdan View Post
    I don't think that's the issue. I have "/sc set Haste" (which contains the $hasteHands variable for the handslot) in my utsusemi macros for example, and the gear swap works, it just never loads koga tekko. My ni shadow cancel for casting ichi rules work fine when using the same macros.
    Why not just use a rule to handle that too, rather than putting it in your macro?

    Code:
    /ma "Utsusemi: Ni" <stpc>
    /sc set Haste
    /wait 2
    /sc set idle
    can be reduced to

    Code:
    /ma "Utsusemi: Ni" <stpc>
    if you have the rule

    Code:
    <if spell="Utsusemi*">
        <equip when="midcast" set="Haste" />
        <equip when="aftercast" set="idle" />
    </if>
    This ensures your rules get processed in the correct order, and keeps your macros simple. It also accommodates command-line casting such as "//utsusemini".

    EDIT: Try adding a <command>input /echo $HasteHands</command> right before and after your rule that is supposed to be setting the $HasteHands variable based on time. This way you can see what the value of the variable is before and after it processes for debug purposes. Perhaps something is misspelled?

  10. #210

    Quote Originally Posted by fantasticdan View Post
    Extremely late reply but I tried this exactly as shown here and it didn't work, I just end up with dusk hands regardless of time.
    Ok I decided to make a little text xml to see why you said that code didnt work. First thing I noticed is you have two different quotation marks being used, the wrong ones being in the variables section (opening the xml in firefox showed this error). Also you must have a "set" inside a "group" and sets of groups are inside "sets" (Firefox doesnt report this as an error but Spellcast info when loading the xml reported 0 sets). Posting the xml I tested with so you can see:

    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" ?>
    <spellcast>
    	<config
    		HideErrors="false"
    		ShowGearSwaps="false"
    		Debug="false"
    		ShowSpellInfo="false"
    	/>
    	
    	<sets>
    		<group default="yes" name="Haste">
    			<set name="Handtest">
    				<hands>$hasteHands</hands>
    			</set>
    		</group>
    	</sets>
    
    	<variables>
    		<var name="hasteHands">Dusk Gloves</var>
    	</variables>
    
    	<rules>
    		<if mode="OR" TimeLT="6.00" TimeGT="17.59">
    			<action type="Var" cmd="set hasteHands Koga Tekko" /> 
    		</if>
    		<else>
    			<action type="Var" cmd="set hasteHands Dusk Gloves" /> 
    		</else>
    	</rules>
    
    </spellcast>
    I loaded this .xml. Checked and saw it was nighttime, checked that the variable was initially set to "Dusk Gloves" (sc var list), casted Utsusemi just to get the rules to proc ,and checked the var again (sc var list) and noticed it was changed to "Koga Tekko". So this code does work.

    Edit: BTW this was tested on Spellcast 2.22

  11. #211
    Yoshi P
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    5,360
    BG Level
    8
    WoW Realm
    Arthas

    Quote Originally Posted by ShinseiRyu View Post
    Ok I decided to make a little text xml to see why you said that code didnt work. First thing I noticed is you have two different quotation marks being used, the wrong ones being in the variables section (opening the xml in firefox showed this error). Also you must have a "set" inside a "group" and sets of groups are inside "sets" (Firefox doesnt report this as an error but Spellcast info when loading the xml reported 0 sets). Posting the xml I tested with so you can see:
    Thanks, that did it.

    Quote Originally Posted by GuntarHolyFlame View Post
    Why not just use a rule to handle that too, rather than putting it in your macro?
    Because I have multiple sets to idle in as nin depending on the situation/macro palette. I'm sure there are ways to handle all that with spellcast commands, but I don't see why I would want to bother when what I have now is working fine.

  12. #212
    Fake Numbers
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    96
    BG Level
    2
    FFXI Server
    Odin

    Quote Originally Posted by ShinseiRyu View Post
    Ok I decided to make a little text xml to see why you said that code didnt work. First thing I noticed is you have two different quotation marks being used, the wrong ones being in the variables section (opening the xml in firefox showed this error). Also you must have a "set" inside a "group" and sets of groups are inside "sets" (Firefox doesnt report this as an error but Spellcast info when loading the xml reported 0 sets). Posting the xml I tested with so you can see:

    Spoiler: show
    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" ?>
    <spellcast>
    	<config
    		HideErrors="false"
    		ShowGearSwaps="false"
    		Debug="false"
    		ShowSpellInfo="false"
    	/>
    	
    	<sets>
    		<group default="yes" name="Haste">
    			<set name="Handtest">
    				<hands>$hasteHands</hands>
    			</set>
    		</group>
    	</sets>
    
    	<variables>
    		<var name="hasteHands">Dusk Gloves</var>
    	</variables>
    
    	<rules>
    		<if mode="OR" TimeLT="6.00" TimeGT="17.59">
    			<action type="Var" cmd="set hasteHands Koga Tekko" /> 
    		</if>
    		<else>
    			<action type="Var" cmd="set hasteHands Dusk Gloves" /> 
    		</else>
    	</rules>
    
    </spellcast>


    I loaded this .xml. Checked and saw it was nighttime, checked that the variable was initially set to "Dusk Gloves" (sc var list), casted Utsusemi just to get the rules to proc ,and checked the var again (sc var list) and noticed it was changed to "Koga Tekko". So this code does work.

    Edit: BTW this was tested on Spellcast 2.22
    Interesting find on the double quotes. I had copied some of them straight off the windower.net SpellCast page, but typed some of them myself. I'm guessing this had everything to do with why the rule was failing.

    The <set>...</set> was part of the content skipped by ellipses under <group>, so I apologize that was unclear.

    Quote Originally Posted by fantasticdan
    Quote Originally Posted by GuntarHolyFlame
    Why not just use a rule to handle that too, rather than putting it in your macro?
    Because I have multiple sets to idle in as nin depending on the situation/macro palette. I'm sure there are ways to handle all that with spellcast commands, but I don't see why I would want to bother when what I have now is working fine.
    Fair enough. No need to fix what isn't broken (I personally think there are exceptions to this sentiment, but this may not be one). One nice feature of SpellCast 2.30 is the fact that it knows what you currently have equipped, and consequently won't try to equip something you are already wearing when it swaps in a set based on rules. Normal windower scripts don't allow you to take advantage of this. I'm sure if you wanted some feedback on how to set up your rules to handle your specific cases, there would be people here and plenty over on the windower forums willing to help you figure out something workable.

    After all, I didn't major in computer science because I like to type. I majored in computer science because I like to find solutions. :D

  13. #213
    Ridill
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    9,732
    BG Level
    8
    FFXI Server
    Asura

    Ever since I started using spellcast (like 2 weeks ago), sometimes when I would view my chatlog, all the text would dissapear and it really fucking bothers me. HLAP

  14. #214
    Bagel
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    1,453
    BG Level
    6
    FFXIV Character
    Fallaci Isalie
    FFXIV Server
    Ultros
    FFXI Server
    Phoenix

    That isn't due to Spellcast, it happens to the best of us. Just a gay glitch I suppose.

  15. #215
    Ridill
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    9,732
    BG Level
    8
    FFXI Server
    Asura

    It only started after I installed spellcast <_<, never ever happened before that.

  16. #216
    Melee Summoner
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    24
    BG Level
    1
    FFXI Server
    Diabolos

    I have also seen the blank chatlog start happingin since upgrading SpellCast. I have seen that happen before, but that was a year or so ago. It may be a coincidence, no conclusive evidence yet.

  17. #217
    Bagel
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    1,453
    BG Level
    6
    FFXIV Character
    Fallaci Isalie
    FFXIV Server
    Ultros
    FFXI Server
    Phoenix

    Well I personally don't use spellcast right now and I still get it from time to time.

  18. #218
    Ridill
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    10,227
    BG Level
    9
    FFXI Server
    Asura

    It never used to happen to me back in the old days, but since using windower its happened more often.

  19. #219
    Ridill
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    9,732
    BG Level
    8
    FFXI Server
    Asura

    It's never happened at all ever before I got spellcast (2 weeks ago). I have windower 3.3 I think

  20. #220
    CoP Dynamis
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    259
    BG Level
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by Tricen View Post
    Ever since I started using spellcast (like 2 weeks ago), sometimes when I would view my chatlog, all the text would dissapear and it really fucking bothers me. HLAP
    my girlfriends started doing the same thing, but mine however, doesn't so idk what thats about

Similar Threads

  1. Spellcast Shop Thread
    By Yugl in forum FFXI: Everything
    Replies: 232
    Last Post: 2014-03-18, 04:47
  2. time spent on ls events, helping friends and your own time
    By freewind in forum FFXI: Everything
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2005-09-06, 16:42