• Navigation
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    I'm more gentle than I look.
    Mr. Feathers AKA Mr. Striations
    All hail Lord Yamcha

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    16,991
    BG Level
    9

    Before I return this monitor/buy a new one...

    I have a question that needs help rather quickly, as the sale for my new monitor ends in about 4 and a half hours.


    Right now on darker colors and in ffxi, the monitor looks fine but there's like a black wave in the background that moves vertically down my screen. It's not VERY noticeable but it is annoying and looks unnatural. I was wondering if maybe there's a setting I should be messing with that may change this? If not I'm going to return it and just get an Acer, since they're a more well known company than HNC, even though the monitor in question is the same price and will be 2 inches shorter.

  2. #2
    Relic Shield
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    1,818
    BG Level
    6

    Make sure the refresh rate stated in the manual (the optimum value...) is the same as what it's configured to in windows/on the monitor.

  3. #3
    I'm more gentle than I look.
    Mr. Feathers AKA Mr. Striations
    All hail Lord Yamcha

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    16,991
    BG Level
    9

    Not sure how to change the configuration of the monitor itself, but it says on the info tab on the screen

    H: 66.7KHz V: 60.0HZ
    1929 x 1080

    How would I check in windows if these matched up?

    Also, it says DDC/CI ON no clue what that is and whether it needs to be on or off.

  4. #4
    I'm more gentle than I look.
    Mr. Feathers AKA Mr. Striations
    All hail Lord Yamcha

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    16,991
    BG Level
    9

    k it says recommended res is 1920x1080, which it is, and that recommended is 60hz, which it is. (was by default)

  5. #5
    I'm more gentle than I look.
    Mr. Feathers AKA Mr. Striations
    All hail Lord Yamcha

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    16,991
    BG Level
    9

    kk problem solved. Was the VGA hook up. Cleared right up when I bought an HDMI cable. Now to order the cheap one off newegg and retrurn this 20 dollar target one when the new one gets here.

Similar Threads

  1. Buying a new monitor, LCD or LED?
    By Bebopaloo in forum Tech
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 2011-06-01, 08:51
  2. Buying a New Monitor
    By Dolmen in forum Tech
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 2010-08-01, 12:06