+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Demosthenes11
    Guest

    Some sort of processor problem

    So I built a brand new computer not too long ago and things were going great with it, but recently it's been completely freezing followed by a blue screen with an error of "A clock interrupt was not received on a secondary processor during the allocated time interval" blah blah computer shut down to save it. I have no idea where to even start with this problem which has brought me here.
    I'm not the best with computers so bear with me if i have to answer any questions.

    my relevant specs are:
    windows 7 ultimate
    intel quad core 2.66 ghz processor
    8800 gts nvidia card
    4 gigs ram

    thank you D:

  2. #2
    Not Killing Ganon
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    1,273
    BG Level
    6
    FFXI Server
    Siren

    psu wattage?

    what are you doing when this happens?

    have you changed any BIOS settings for overclocking or any such thing?

  3. #3
    Demosthenes11
    Guest

    when it happens i cant do anything but cold boot it; it completely locks up

    i have not overclocked any of the processors, either

  4. #4
    Not Killing Ganon
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    1,273
    BG Level
    6
    FFXI Server
    Siren

    psu wattage?

    was this working before xxx happened? and if so what did you do right before it happened? also run a program to check the temps on your proc, i forget the name of it atm

  5. #5

    Fanspeed, realtemp, hwmoniter are all programs that will tell you temps of pc parts.

  6. #6
    Relic Horn
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3,206
    BG Level
    7

    I've seen that error after I updated a driver for one of my motherboard components before. I'm not sure if it was chipset, sound, LAN, or something else. I reverted back to a previous driver and it went away.

    Have you installed new hardware, software, or drivers recently? Or, do you have software that auto-updates itself or its drivers?

    The error also popped up once or twice while overclocking. I can't remember the cause exactly as it was just one of the weird OC errors that I've seen, but I'd guess low voltages for the CPU or RAM. I don't think it was heat related for me, but I can't be certain. It's possible that if you never changed your motherboard settings that it defaulted to voltages that are too low for your CPU or RAM (more likely RAM). You could try comparing your RAM voltage in the BIOS to what your sticks are rated at.

  7. #7
    Demosthenes11
    Guest

    Quote Originally Posted by Kurp View Post
    I've seen that error after I updated a driver for one of my motherboard components before. I'm not sure if it was chipset, sound, LAN, or something else. I reverted back to a previous driver and it went away.

    Have you installed new hardware, software, or drivers recently? Or, do you have software that auto-updates itself or its drivers?

    The error also popped up once or twice while overclocking. I can't remember the cause exactly as it was just one of the weird OC errors that I've seen, but I'd guess low voltages for the CPU or RAM. I don't think it was heat related for me, but I can't be certain. It's possible that if you never changed your motherboard settings that it defaulted to voltages that are too low for your CPU or RAM (more likely RAM). You could try comparing your RAM voltage in the BIOS to what your sticks are rated at.
    I really don't understand much about computers so that last part just kinda went over my head, but im 99% sure its not an overheating problem. I put the computer together with my gfs dad that specializes in computer cooling shit and unless i was running some NASA quality shit, it shouldnt be overheating

  8. #8
    E. Body
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    2,065
    BG Level
    7
    FFXI Server
    Phoenix

    From the BIOS, you can change voltage settings of the CPU and RAM that come from the power supply. If it's set incorrectly, set too high, it can overheat/burn out the part. Otherwise if it's set too low, there's a chance that the component will just fail to work properly due to a lack of power. Look up the specific ram you have, maybe check the manufacturer's site to see what voltage you should be running out. Sometimes it's even on the packaging or a sticker on the ram stick itself. Do the same for your CPU.

  9. #9
    Not Killing Ganon
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    1,273
    BG Level
    6
    FFXI Server
    Siren

    just because some guy who's a "specialist" in cooling built your computer, does not mean that it isnt over heating, stuff breaks. its a part of life. check your temps.

Similar Threads

  1. Some sort of hardware error
    By Demosthenes11 in forum Tech
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 2011-01-06, 04:16
  2. Lag of some sort
    By Not Kuno in forum Tech
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 2009-12-15, 21:29