+ Reply to Thread
    Cerberus
    BG Level
    FFXI Server
    Asura

The "Best" external hard drive?

Hi, I was curious as to what the best external hard drive would be for around $100 that you guys would recommend? I'm a total newb and don't want to go into a store knowing nothing... I have no experience with external hard drives. I want to buy one by the end of the summer to put all my movies/programs on for when I go back to college. Thank you =)

Pandemonium
    BG Level
    WoW Realm
    Cho'gall

It's hard to go wrong with a WD Mybook, they're pretty popular and cheap. I'm sure someone will say how unreliable WD drives are, but I've never had a problem. Buffalo externals are solid as well.

E. Body
    BG Level
    FFXI Server
    Caitsith

I've always sworn by my 1 TB WD mybooks. I never buy Seagate since i've had one fail as have many of my friends. I haven't tried a Buffalo, but I do love their networking equipment so I'm sure they're just as good on the externals.

! Western Digital is the way to go. I have 2 - 1TB externals from them, and shits amazing.

DAKPluto

I also have yet to have a problem with my WD external. (Other than my mobo refusing to stop trying to load from it first on a restart.)

I also have a Maxtor external that has not given me a single problem at all.

E. Body
    BG Level
    FFXI Server
    Caitsith

I will say the new 1 TBs WD is pushing out have their stupid software on it (that I can't seem to rid the PC from prompting) but it shouldn't be an issue. My gf bought one and we removed the software off the HD but it still pops up the SmartCD message when I plug it in. Kind of annoying but meh. My old MyBooks don't do that and I love them dearly. :D

blax n gunz
    BG Level

Quote Originally Posted by Octavious View Post
    I will say the new 1 TBs WD is pushing out have their stupid software on it (that I can't seem to rid the PC from prompting)