They likely just duplicate your current character to the new server. I doubt they remove your character from the current server you're on.
This line in particular seems to confirm that:Items and gil acquired and levels gained on the test server will not be reflected on the public server.
XI Wiki


do you have all content cleared? maybe it checks to see if you've even bothered to do any of the content other then RoZ, ToAU and CoP.
