+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Dual sim question     submit to reddit submit to twitter

  1. #1
    Member since 2006 and still can't think of a title.
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    17,430
    BG Level
    9
    FFXIV Character
    Acanis Lindri
    FFXIV Server
    Midgardsormr
    FFXI Server
    Bismarck
    WoW Realm
    Kil'jaeden

    Dual sim question

    Quick question on current dual sim card phones like the IPhone 11. You have to tell the phone which sim is active, they both don't run at the same time, correct?

  2. #2
    Salvage Bans
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    843
    BG Level
    5
    FFXIV Character
    Niya Kouya
    FFXIV Server
    Odin

    Highly depends on the phone. Earlier models often could only use UMTS/LTE for the primary card, the secondary could only be used for calls. But even those were booked in on both cards at the same time.
    Nowadays (usually) both cards can run with data connectivity and you can set a "primary" card that is preferred. The dialer app for calls usually lets you select which card to use.

  3. #3
    Hyperion Cross
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    7,758
    BG Level
    8
    FFXIV Character
    Kai Bond
    FFXIV Server
    Gilgamesh

    Quick note that the iPhone 11 (and also XS XR series, not sure if 7/8/X had dual sim) uses eSim as the secondary sim (so the phone is still a single slot sim phone), make sure your provider supports that first!

  4. #4
    The Real Cookiemonster
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    1,715
    BG Level
    6
    FFXIV Character
    Dark Depravity
    FFXIV Server
    Sargatanas

    As was said by others, depends on phone. I've been using Dual Sim for a few years and I swap phones a bit. All have been Android based though.

    They are kinda active, as in that it listens on both cards at the same time for texts and calls etc. But an artifact of this, if you have an ongoing call, it won't get texts or data via the xG network until you hang up.
    I have to set primary for datatraffic, and can set it to always ask for calls/texts (and I can choose when I call or text which sim card to use)

Quick Reply Quick Reply

  • Decrease Size
    Increase Size
  • Remove Text Formatting
  • Insert Link Insert Image Insert Video
  • Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
  • Insert NSFW Tag
  • Insert Spoiler Tag

Similar Threads

  1. Dual Monitor Background Display Question
    By MyTitthias in forum Tech
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2010-10-27, 10:21
  2. Dual monitor question
    By Heavencloud in forum Tech
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 2010-05-10, 16:00
  3. Dual monitor question
    By Kiehl in forum Tech
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 2009-05-20, 17:57
  4. HDD Recovery and Linux Dual-Boot Question
    By Wintermute in forum Tech
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2009-05-05, 12:54
  5. Same DUal monitor questions
    By The_OG_Nelta in forum Tech
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2008-10-23, 20:48
  6. Dual Monitor Questions
    By The_OG_Nelta in forum Tech
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2008-09-19, 23:29