+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Banned.

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    15,022
    BG Level
    9

    I need help with the tubes in my computer

    So I'm pretty noob at upgrading/installing any Hardware releated. So uh, I want to upgrade my ram. 128 -> 1G. The 1G is compatible with my motherboard and all that jazz. Anyway, so first I just put it in next to my older one(one empty slot) and booted up my PC. It seemed to have no effect. So then I take out my older one and replace it with my new one. When I boot up the PC, I still see "128" RAM. I have no clue what to do, but I'm sure its simple. My PC is working fine after the replacement, but I don't know if it is working.

  2. #2
    Sea Torques
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    586
    BG Level
    5
    FFXIV Character
    Bryant Snow
    FFXIV Server
    Gilgamesh
    FFXI Server
    Bismarck
    WoW Realm
    Deathwing

    You sure you put it in the correct way? It's quite easy to mistake which is the correct side, make sure that the stick is firmly in place, and locked in.

  3. #3
    Banned.

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    15,022
    BG Level
    9

    Its all good. Maybe its working, I mean I couldn't run FFXI without RAM and its the only RAM on my PC. I think I'm just being dumb. thanks anyway ;o. Case closed...

  4. #4
    Sea Torques
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    586
    BG Level
    5
    FFXIV Character
    Bryant Snow
    FFXIV Server
    Gilgamesh
    FFXI Server
    Bismarck
    WoW Realm
    Deathwing

    It's probably not working correctly then. Post-Boot would recognize the 1Gig of Ram. You sure you put in the new stick? lol...You might need to fuck w/Bios tho...

  5. #5
    Banned.

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    15,022
    BG Level
    9

    I just checked with the POL tester you can download on the FFXI site, it says "1055" main memory, 5xx(forget exactly) used. I think thats it.

  6. #6
    Hayleystrator
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    7,618
    BG Level
    8
    FFXI Server
    Bahamut

    You have 2 RAM slots? And you want 1G RAM? That's two 512MB sticks (durr) that your PC is recognizing right? http://www.crucial.com to be sure.

Quick Reply Quick Reply

  • Decrease Size
    Increase Size
  • Remove Text Formatting
  • Insert Link Insert Image Insert Video
  • Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
  • Insert NSFW Tag
  • Insert Spoiler Tag

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2011-06-08, 19:05
  2. Need help with my game.
    By Aristio in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 158
    Last Post: 2010-02-15, 10:01
  3. Need help with dickhead fido dealer
    By Ikith in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2007-03-23, 01:18
  4. Need Help with Macroeconomics
    By Borisan in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2006-10-30, 09:43
  5. Need help with paintshop/photoshop
    By Kaylia in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2006-05-29, 14:19
  6. Need Help with Maya program
    By Blackheart in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2006-01-05, 16:30
  7. need help with algebra2 :]
    By untouchable in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 43
    Last Post: 2005-12-15, 23:33