Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: Is this a scam?     submit to reddit submit to twitter

  1. #1
    The God Damn Kuno
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    13,360
    BG Level
    9
    FFXIV Character
    Kuno Sedai
    FFXIV Server
    Gilgamesh
    FFXI Server
    Bahamut

    Is this a scam?

    In my unrelenting search for work I managed to find this gem. Seems interesting if legit but I've learned not to trust stuff like this. I have no clue so I figure I'd post it here incase anyone has any idea.

    http://www.bigpaywork.com/CB/


    I've never been a fan of that type of stuff but it does seem like easy monies. Anyone have any idea if this is legit or some type of horrible scam? The ads at the bottom don't seem too convincing.

  2. #2
    Nidhogg
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    3,612
    BG Level
    7
    FFXIV Character
    Glick Wick
    FFXIV Server
    Ultros
    FFXI Server
    Bahamut

    Re: Is this a scam?

    Obviously a scam, super sketchy website.

  3. #3
    Relic Shield
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    1,778
    BG Level
    6

    Re: Is this a scam?

    97.00 fee for a risk free thing... LOL!

  4. #4
    Salvage Bans
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    871
    BG Level
    5

    Re: Is this a scam?

    Register now for a small one-time registration fee of just $97.00
    yeah no....that just screams typical scam

  5. #5
    Sea Torques
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    526
    BG Level
    5

    Re: Is this a scam?

    As I have searched for employment online before, every single one of these with "start up" fees are pure scams. The ones without start up fees are jokes, the pay never justifies the work.

    Like yo mama always told you:"If it sounds too good to be true, then it probably is"

  6. #6
    Campaign
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    6,192
    BG Level
    8

    Re: Is this a scam?

    If they were making $1000+ per day doing what they advertise, why would they give a fuck about scamming a few thousand from people gullible enough to believe it?

  7. #7
    Jinroku
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    494
    BG Level
    4
    FFXI Server
    Cerberus
    WoW Realm
    Mal'Ganis

  8. #8
    Old Merits
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    1,136
    BG Level
    6

    Re: Is this a scam?

    It's a scam. All that is is they teach you how to do Google AdSense and you become a referrer for many other scams like this one (or legit products). You use Google to draw people to their site, if one of your people converts to a sale you get paid. Does it work? It can. Will it for you? Not if you don't have a pretty heavy internet advertising background.

  9. #9
    Sandworm Swallows
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    6,989
    BG Level
    8

    Re: Is this a scam?

    Mr. Kuno, sir.

    http://www.CareerBuilder.com

    http://newyork.craigslist.org/


    GO FORTH AND MAEK MONIEZ

  10. #10
    Relic Horn
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    3,215
    BG Level
    7

    Re: Is this a scam?

    Quote Originally Posted by Kiro
    Mr. Kuno, sir.

    http://www.CareerBuilder.com

    http://newyork.craigslist.org/


    GO FORTH AND MAEK MONIEZ
    Aww man, that sounds like it involves leaving my house for like 12 hours a day and being tired and bored most of the time.

  11. #11
    The God Damn Kuno
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    13,360
    BG Level
    9
    FFXIV Character
    Kuno Sedai
    FFXIV Server
    Gilgamesh
    FFXI Server
    Bahamut

    Re: Is this a scam?

    Quote Originally Posted by Kiro
    Mr. Kuno, sir.

    http://www.CareerBuilder.com

    http://newyork.craigslist.org/


    GO FORTH AND MAEK MONIEZ
    Yes I've tried that and I havn't had anyone call me, and Ive been looking for a bit now. <.< I saw the scam link on CareerBuilder today which led me to post this.

  12. #12
    Sandworm Swallows
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    6,989
    BG Level
    8

    Re: Is this a scam?

    Look for Entry Level stuff. Mail room jobs are good because you can move up in the company pretty quickly, and most of them pay pretty well. You can apply for the post office, I think they pay $18 an hour for mail-related jobs, whether you drop mail off or work inside and process it.

    Entry level data entry jobs are easy as hell too. You could always find a Temp Agency and start doing office jobs they give you to build up some "experience" (ya lolz need experience typing amirite). Nice thing about Temp Agencies is that they find you the jobs, so if you don't like a job they offer you, just say no and they'll find another one. When you go in tell them specifically what you want to do and they'll make you test some tests (writing, typing, phone skills, whatever) and find you jobs based off of how well you did.

  13. #13
    Oh, you've got green eyes.
    Oh, you've got blue eyes.
    Oh, you've got grey eyes.

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    1,821
    BG Level
    6

    Re: Is this a scam?

    as soon as i saw the primary color blue background load up i was like UM NO

    it only got worse HONESTLY

  14. #14
    The God Damn Kuno
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    13,360
    BG Level
    9
    FFXIV Character
    Kuno Sedai
    FFXIV Server
    Gilgamesh
    FFXI Server
    Bahamut

    Re: Is this a scam?

    I have experience and stuff. >.> According to my resume 5 years worth (my old boss gave me the OK to lie on it lawls) but that doesnt help.

  15. #15
    Sandworm Swallows
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    6,989
    BG Level
    8

    Re: Is this a scam?

    What're you applying for? Maybe you're setting you standards too high? Honestly if you're on some kind of deadline you should just go for what you know you can do, or meet / surpass their basic requirements to do the job. But, yeah, data entry jobs are easy shit.

  16. #16
    Sea Torques
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    526
    BG Level
    5

    Re: Is this a scam?

    Depends on where you live too, I know this all too well living in FL. All my friends and family have the same problems with finding jobs, regardless of experience. The job market is a bitch nowadays if you're at mid-career or just got laid off and can't live off of min. wage.

  17. #17
    Official THE Alpha and Omega
    Moderator

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    5,892
    BG Level
    8
    FFXI Server
    Bahamut

    Re: Is this a scam?

    Quote Originally Posted by Kiro
    Mr. Kuno, sir.

    http://www.CareerBuilder.com

    http://newyork.craigslist.org/


    GO FORTH AND MAEK MONIEZ
    Craigslist jobs are 99% scams too :/

  18. #18
    Title: "HUBBLE GOTCHU!" (without the quotes, of course [and without "(without the quotes, of course)", of course], etc)
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    3,141
    BG Level
    7

    Re: Is this a scam?

    Your instincts are usually right. If you had to ask "Is this a scam?" then it's probably a scam.

    Just out of curiosity, what area do you have 5 years of experience in? (If you already mentioned it, sorry, I must have missed it).

  19. #19
    The God Damn Kuno
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    13,360
    BG Level
    9
    FFXIV Character
    Kuno Sedai
    FFXIV Server
    Gilgamesh
    FFXI Server
    Bahamut

    Re: Is this a scam?

    Graphic Design. Not that it means for much anyway, it seems most places have their own way they want you to do stuff so I'd have to learn alot of stuff over again. <.<


    Edit: Whoops I missed some posts. Yeah I dont mind low wage stuff really but I want a career instead of like McSlaveLabor. Even if its in a different field at entry lvl I don't really care. >.>

  20. #20
    Bagel
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    1,402
    BG Level
    6
    FFXI Server
    Bahamut

    Re: Is this a scam?

    Careerbuilder and Craigslist are not good places to find a real job. The real jobs are posted on the hiring companies' websites. You should figure out what companies are in your area that you would like to work for then visit their sites.

    You gotta network as much as possible. Let everyone you know, friends, family, friends of friends, let them know you are looking for a job. I would work on developing a 60 second resume that you can tell someone your qualifications and skills. Practice it and have it down pat because you never know when you might meet someone that can help you.

    Good luck. I was a wandering nomad working for temp agencies for about 2 years before I finally landed with the company I wanted.

Similar Threads

  1. what the fuck is this shit
    By joft in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 2005-06-02, 20:35
  2. what game is this?
    By joft in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 2005-05-27, 21:03
  3. holy crap is this for real?
    By elita in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2005-05-03, 12:16
  4. is this the same lujan from your ls ?
    By someguy in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2005-02-17, 18:09
  5. what is this (JP website with some of our names on it)
    By Zigma in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2004-10-07, 17:51