+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: FFXI/Vista problem     submit to reddit submit to twitter

  1. #1
    New Merits
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    229
    BG Level
    4
    FFXI Server
    Sylph

    FFXI/Vista problem

    I just got a new pc today, installed vista on it (as my bro's pc runs ffxi with vista fine), installed ffxi and all the other stuff for it, howeva when I log onto the game the chat looks fucking terrible, it's all blurry and really hard to read, but when I take a screenshot and look at it, it looks perfect with no problems at all, anyone know what could be causing the game to look shitty when I play but look fine in screenshots?

  2. #2
    Not Killing Ganon
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    1,273
    BG Level
    6
    FFXI Server
    Siren

    Re: FFXI/Vista problem

    did you change your ffxi config settings?

    are you using windower and did you set up those settings?

  3. #3
    Ridill
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    10,227
    BG Level
    9
    FFXI Server
    Asura

    Re: FFXI/Vista problem

    Were you drunk? And then sobered up by the time you looked at your screenshot?

  4. #4
    New Merits
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    229
    BG Level
    4
    FFXI Server
    Sylph

    Re: FFXI/Vista problem

    I set ffxi config to the highest background resolution, I do use windower and have made sure that all the settings are exactly the same as I used before on my old pc (xp)

    and no I wasn't drunk.

  5. #5
    New Merits
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    229
    BG Level
    4
    FFXI Server
    Sylph

    Re: FFXI/Vista problem

    Just so you know my pc is: 3.2ghz AMD Atlhon dual core, 1 gig ram, 150 gig HD and a nVidia GeForce 6100 nForce 405

  6. #6
    Relic Weapons
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    377
    BG Level
    4
    FFXIV Character
    Caprese Dionir
    FFXIV Server
    Hyperion
    FFXI Server
    Sylph

    Re: FFXI/Vista problem

    Vista with a gig of ram sounds painful.

    Are you playing in fullscreen, and, on your old computer, did you use a tool to enhance video quality of FFXI higher than what is allowed by the config utility built into the game (POLUtils,FFXICalculator,manually via registry, etc)?

    The highest the built-in ffxi tool allows is a background of 1024x1024, if you've ever raised it, going back will look blurry in comparison.

  7. #7
    New Merits
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    229
    BG Level
    4
    FFXI Server
    Sylph

    Re: FFXI/Vista problem

    Well I have the problem sorted now, it was because I was clicking to maximize the windower (Had no problems with it on XP) but on vista it really blurrs out the lettering, so I just set windower to open the game on full screen and it's working fine now.

Similar Threads

  1. FFXI/Laptop/Nvidia/Vista Problem.
    By Belkin in forum Tech
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2009-08-16, 12:41
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-08-09, 08:57
  3. FFXI Windowed Mode(Windows Vista) problem.
    By Mayareira in forum Tech
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2008-11-21, 05:44
  4. FFXI Vista Installation Problems
    By Soprano in forum Tech
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2008-03-31, 22:50
  5. More Specific Vista Problem
    By Daahan in forum Tech
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2007-04-12, 21:27
  6. Window Vista problem?
    By Eggroll in forum Tech
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-04-04, 02:59
  7. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2007-03-14, 01:39