Okay anyone else notice this in single player?
I recently had my computer freeze and did a hard restart after closing minecraft and I lose my save file I been working on. It just wasn't there next time and was an empty slot.
So I restarted and rerolled the world until I got one with a lot of cliffs near my starting point.
After playing and building a base I branched out and started exploring and about 200 feet into the distance I see my old castle from my save that got deleted, it was fully intact along with its chests and everything, nothing was out of place.
Is it normal for a game to keep the data but remove the save file then use that same save file to generate a world for you just in a different position?
I'm happy all my work didn't go to waste but I wonder why the file was missing from the list when the data was still in tact.
XI Wiki


