I have no idea if it's suppose to work this way, but I did a behest with someone and they forgot we were partied, he activated his leve while I was crafting at camp, then he disbanded once he noticed he was in a party. I kept crafting and he ran off to do the leve, then it suddenly started updating me with what mobs were being killed. Once it was complete, I was able to run to the node and collect a reward for doing nothing. I could see reasons why it WOULD work that way, but it still seems like an easy thing to abuse.
XI Wiki

