Page 1 of 60 1 2 3 11 51 ... LastLast
    Electric Six groupie
    BG Level
    FFXIV Character
    Jayne Barsala
    FFXIV Server
    Lamia

BG Homeowner and DIY Thread - Out of the Basement Edition

So, like me, you finally decided to venture out of your parents basement and stake it out on your own. There’s so much to worry about and you don’t have the slightest clue what adulting is in your 30s. Let’s discuss the life of living in a house!

This thread is still under construction (I like puns).

-----------------------------------------------

About Me (aka who the hell is Jaybar and why am I listening to a dragoon)

My background is in architecture, and this thread is going to dive into the many aspects of renting and owning a home from the viewpoint of a designer, engineer, and tenant. I have a BA in Architectural Studies and a Masters of Architecture, and a couple exams away from full licensure edit Fully licensed in Illinois now! I’ve worked at design firms focusing on residential low-, mid-, and hi-rise construction with a particular interest in adaptive reuse. My current occupation is with an architecture/engineering firm with a very wide project diversity. My concentration is in historic and contemporary masonry buildings.

We will break down this thread in a few categories listed below:

Locating a home
    Inspecting a home
    Designing/Renovating a home
    Maintaining a home
    Selling a home (jk I’m not a real estate agent)

Please feel free to open the discussion to questions outside of these areas - hopefully I or someone in the business can help!

Locating a Home